Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Twentieth Century Religious Thought, Volume I: Christianity
This multi-volume, cross-searchable online collection brings together seminal works and archival materials related to Christianity, including key authors such as Hans Urs von Baltasar, Rudolf Bultmann, James Cone, Gustavo Gutirrez, Adolf von Harnack, Henri de Lubac, Wolfhart Pannenberg, Rosemary Radford Ruether, Dorothee Slle, and Ernst Troeltsch, and Reinhold Niebuhr.
Twentieth Century Religious Thought, Volume II: Islam
Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Islam focuses on modern Islamic theology and tradition and details Islams evolution from the late 19th century by examining printed works and rare documents by Muslim writers, both non-Western and Western voices.
Twentieth Century Religious Thought, Volume III: Judaism
Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Volume III, Judaism focuses on modern Jewish theology and philosophy and details Judaisms evolution from the late 19th century by examining printed works and rare documents. It includes an international selection of English-language editions of key thinkers such as Eugene Borowitz, Elliott Dorff, Emil L. Fackenheim, Blu Greenberg, David Hartman, Mordecai Kaplan, Adolf Neubauer, and Joseph B. Soloveitchik; writings in German and Hebrew from the Markus Brann collection, and a selection of contextual monographs and reference works.
Twentieth Century Religious Thought, Volume IV: Eastern Religions
Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Volume IV, Eastern Religions focuses on the various facets of Eastern Religion spanning over two-hundred years. It includes an international selection of English-language editions of key thinkers such as Alan Watts, Sister Nivedita, K. N. Jayatilleke, and Prayadh Payutto, among others. Future releases will introduce more works by significant thinkers and archival content. Upon completion, it will include 100,000 pages of printed works and primary sources.
Acta Sanctorum Database
The Acta Sanctorum Database is an electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organized according to each saint's feast day.
Library of Latin Texts CLCLT
CLCLT is a database of Latin texts containing texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). It covers the works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, a corpus of Medieval Latin literature, as well as works of neo-Latin from the Reformation forward. Many of the patristic and medieval works are taken from the Corpus Christianorum and supplemented with additional texts.
Luthers Werke im WWW
Luthers Werke on the World Wide Web reproduces the Weimar Edition in electronic form. The Weimar Edition, which is regarded as a monumental work in the field of theology and the German language, was first published in 1883 and includes 127 volumes.
Patrologia Latina Database
An electronic version of J.-P. Migne's 221-volume Patrologiae Cursus Completus, Series Latina, more commonly known as the Patrologia Latina. This monumental set of books, published between 1844 and 1864, comprises the complete texts of all Christian writings in Latin from the earliest times until the beginning of the thirteenth century.
Includes available messages from the Popes dating from Honorius III (1216-1277) to the present.
ATLA Digital Libraary
The Atla Digital Library brings together digital collections of scholarly, historical and cultural significance including postcards, manuscripts, lithographs, sermons, shape-note tune books, and various forms of Christian art, architecture, and iconography.
Alfred Hamy's Jesuit Portrait Gallery
Produced by the Raynor Memorial Libraries of Marquette University, this is a complete presentation of Alfred Hamy's Galerie Illustrée de la Compagnie de Jésus (Paris: 1893).
The Church in the Southern Black Community
Includes autobiographies, biographies, church documents, sermons, histories, encyclopedias, and other published materials.
This is an image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts held in academic and research libraries. This database contains over 15,000 images and 3,500 manuscripts and documents.
Eighteenth Century Collection Online
This online collection of 138,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 includes numerous sermons, Bibles, and prayer books.
Goodspeed Manuscript Collection
The Goodspeed Collection of New Testament Manuscripts comprises 65 early Greek, Syriac, Ethiopic, Armenian, Arabic, and Latin manuscripts ranging in date from the 7th to the 19th centuries.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
A partnership of more than sixty major research institutions with Google, the Hathi Trust Digital Library includes all the book images from these libraries that have been digitized by Google. Only out-of-copyright images (generally pre-1923) can be displayed, or others where the permission of the copyright holder has been obtained, though both in-copyright and out-of-copyright materials can be searched. Out-of-copyright books can be downloaded by Northwestern users who register with the site.
Complete works of Plato, Aristotle (both in English), and Augustine (Latin and English), as well as various medieval Latin texts.
PHI CD ROM (Packard Humanities Initiative)
An extensive full-text database of Latin Literature, along with a few other texts, including the Greek and Hebrew bibles. Ask for CD-ROM and Reference Desk.
The Ursuline Convent, Charlestown, Massachusetts Collection
This collection documents the ministry of the Ursulines of Quebec in Boston area during the early 1800s and demonstrates the strong anti-Catholic sentiment that existed in New England.