Librarian
Geoff Morse
Contact:
Geoff Morse
Liaison for American Studies, History, Jewish Studies, and Religious Studies
Interim Head, Research Services
Room 2624
2nd floor, east tower
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, Illinois 60208-2300
phone: 847-467-1866
gmorse@northwestern.edu
For more library assistance please see the Library web site.
Liaison for American Studies, History, Jewish Studies, and Religious Studies
Interim Head, Research Services
Room 2624
2nd floor, east tower
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, Illinois 60208-2300
phone: 847-467-1866
gmorse@northwestern.edu
For more library assistance please see the Library web site.
Reference Works
The Anchor Bible Dictionary
byCall Number: 220.3 A539 Main Library Reference (Non-circulating)(1st floor, east tower)ISBN: 0385193513Publication Date: 1998
Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism
byCall Number: 294.503 B857 Main Library Reference (Non-circulating)(1st floor, east tower)ISBN: 9789004176416Publication Date: 2009Also available online.
The Encyclopedia of Caribbean Religions
byCall Number: BL2565 .E53 2013 Main Library Reference (Non-circulating)(1st floor, east tower)ISBN: 9780252037238Publication Date: 2013The definitive reference for Caribbean religious phenomena from a Caribbean perspective.
The Encyclopedia of Hinduism
byCall Number: BL1105 .E53 2013 Main Library Reference (Non-circulating)(1st floor, east tower)ISBN: 9781608871759Publication Date: 2013The Encyclopedia of Hinduism encompasses the depth and breadth of Hindu and Indian history, science, astrology, medicine, civilization, culture, art, architecture, spirituality, and more.
Encyclopaedia of Islam
byCall Number: 297.03 E56 1954 Main Library Reference (Non-circulating)(1st floor, east tower)ISBN: 9004127569Publication Date: 2002Also available online.
Encyclopedia Judaica
byCall Number: 296 E5611 2007 Main Library Reference (Non-circulating)(1st floor, east tower)ISBN: 0028659287Publication Date: 2006Also available online
Encyclopedia of Religion
byCall Number: Available onlineISBN: 0028657330Publication Date: 2004Available online.
New Catholic Encyclopedia
byCall Number: 031 N536 2003 Oak Grove LIbrary Center (request online)ISBN: 0787640042Publication Date: 2002Also available online.
Religion Past and Present
byCall Number: 203 R382.4X Main Library Reference (Non-circulating)(1st floor, east tower)ISBN: 9789004146662Publication Date: 2007-2013A translation and adaptation of the 4th edition of Religion in Geschichte und Gegenwart, which was published between 1998 and 2005.
World Christian Encyclopedia
byCall Number: 203.21 W927 2001 Main Library Reference (Non-circulating)(1st floor, east tower)ISBN: 0195079639Publication Date: 2001
Reference Collections Online
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowOffers annotated bibliographies of the most important books and articles on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. Particularly useful for anyone beginning research.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes the full text of 14 reference works:
- A Dictionary of the Bible
- The Oxford Companion to the Bible
- The Oxford Guide to People and Places of the Bible
- A Dictionary of Buddhism
- The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
- The Oxford Dictionary of Islam
- A Concise Companion to the Jewish Religion
- Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
- The Oxford Companion to Philosophy
- The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy
- The Oxford Dictionary of Popes
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
- The Oxford Dictionary of Saints