Legislative Reference Bureau, Illinois General Assembly
The Legislative Reference Bureau carries out a wide range of functions relating to the legal and technical operation of the General Assembly.
Effective December 10, 2018 the Legislative Research Unit was merged into the Commission on Government Forecasting and Accountability (Public Act 100-1148).
These guides describe how to research the legislative history of Illinois laws.
Illinois Supreme Court Library
The Library of the Supreme Court of Illinois serves the Judicial branch of the State of Illinois. The library is also made available to state, federal, and local governments, the bar, and the general public. A private branch library, located in the Chicago loop, is maintained for the use of the Supreme Court in Chicago and the First District Appellate Court. See also Illinois Appellate Court Clerks & Contact Information
Illinois General Assembly
Start here to find bills and resolutions, House & Senate floor debates (transcripts from 1971-present), votes (voice and roll call), public acts, rules, members, journals and calendars. Also provides Illinois Compiled Statutes and the Illinois Constitution.
My Legislation - Searchable database of House and Senate legislation from 1997 forward. Includes bill tracking capabilities. Free registration is required.
Illinois Compiled Statutes
Maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau, this site contains provisions of the Illinois Compiled Statutes and Public Acts of Illinois from databases. The version of the Illinois Compiled Statutes that appears on this site is updated on an ongoing basis. Also available in print format in Government Information: call# 345.2 I29
Illinois Issues
Provides analysis of public policy in Illinois. With a special focus on Illinois government and politics, the magazine pays close attention to current trends and legislative issues, and examines the state's quality of life. Print edition available in Government Information: call # 353.9773 I293 (ceased print publication August 2015). Streaming via NPR-Illinois; Streaming Archive 2001-2014; Print Archive hosted by NIU 1975-2001;
Illinois Legislative Synopsis and Digest (1959-)
Provides a summary of legislation considered by the General Assembly, a record of all legislative action, and several indexes. This set also identifies bill sponsors, the date bills signed by the Governor, the public act number, and the date the law went into effect.