Guides to Illinois State Government

Ilinois : Blue Book
Provides information about the structure and function of Illinois state government and its agencies.  Current office holders and key staff are identified.  Basic statistics on various government functions are provided.
Library has: 1902-1990 ; 1903, 05, 07, 13/14-2011/12 (see also digitized historical Illinois blue books)

Ilinois : Handbook of Government
This handbook is a compact version of the Blue Book of Illinois.
Library has: 1981/1982, 1989/1990-2009/2010

Inside State Government (1982)
A primer for Illinois managers new to Illinois state government.
Oak Grove Library Center, Off Site - Request Online ; 320.9773 I59

Guides to Illinois County & Local Governments

County Governments in Illinois (1943)
A study on the Illinois county government - history, framework, functions and financial structures.
Main Library, Stacks ; 352.0773 S672c (and online via HathiTrust)

1960 edition also available: Law Library, Stacks ; MON JS451.I33 S6 1960 and via HathiTrust; also electronic in HeinOnline (NU Affiliated Users only)

Inside State Government (1982)
A primer for Illinois managers new to Illinois state government.
Oak Grove Library Center, Off Site - Request Online ; 320.9773 I59

Illinois Local Government : a handbook (1990)
Similar to Inside State Government (above) but more in detail.
Main Library, Stacks ; 352.0773 I292 (also available at the Law Library)

Governing Illinois : Your connection to state and local government (1999, 2nd ed.)
A textbook for grade school students to teach about government and political process in Illinois.
Main Library, Government Information - Lower Level Room B190 ; 320.4773 G721

County Government Law : A Reference Guide (2000)
A.k.a county clerk's bible - this guide helps new officials to become familiar with the laws, procedures and responsibilities associated with their offices
Law Library, Government Documents Reference ; D,REF KFI1632.Z9 S38 2000

Illinois State Agency Publications

Electronic Documents of Illinois (EDI)
Provides permanent public access to official publications of the State of Illinois which have been deposited in electronic form.

Illinois.gov
Comprehensive source of information about the state of Illinois and the Illinois state government.

• Executive Branch Agencies
• Judicial Branch
• Legislative Branch
• Illinois Freedom of Information Act (IL FOIA)
  • FOIA FAQ

Cyberdrive Illinois
Cyberdrive Illinois is a clearinghouse of information for Illinois, and also the official Web site for Illinois Secretary of State.

• State Archives
• State Library

Illinois State Agency Databases
Links to state agency databases created to support the work of agencies related to agriculture, crime and criminal justice, earth & environment, health care, history & culture, legislation, licensing and more.  Maintained by the State Documents group of the Government Documents Round Table (GODORT) of the American Library Association.  Links to databases maintained by other states also included.

NUSearch
Publications received from the State of Illinois as depository materials are cataloged and listed in NUSearch.  Strategies to narrow your search to publications from Illinois state agencies include: 

• Use Advanced Search to combine words in the author/creator field with keywords describing your topic:
  • specify Illinois in the Author/Creator field
  • if you have an idea which agency might be involved, add a descriptive keyword to the Author/Creator field
  • topical keywords can be searched in "Any Field"  as in the example below

Illinois State Agency Rules & Regulations

Illinois Administrative Code
Rules issued by Illinois state government agencies, arranged by topic.  This website is maintained by the Joint Committee on Administrative Rules which monitors legislation that affects rulemaking and conducts a public act review to alert agencies to the need for rulemaking.  See also the weekly Flinn Report.

Illinois Register
The Illinois Register provides public notice of rulemaking activity initiated by State government agencies. Rulemaking activity consists of proposed or adopted new rules; amendments to or repeal of existing rules; and rules promulgated by emergency or peremptory action. Executive Orders and Proclamations issued by the Governor; notices of public information required by State Statute; and activities (meeting agendas; Statements of Objection or Recommendation, etc.) of the Joint Committee on Administrative Rules (JCAR).  Published weekly.  With the Illinois Administrative Code, provides complete information about administrative rules and regulations in effect.