Your Librarian
Subjects: Government Information; Regulatory Compliance; Gender & Sexuality Studies
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
Make an Appointment
Illinois Resources for Illinois History
Illinois Institutions
Illinois State Archives
The Illinois State Archives serves by law as the depository of public records of Illinois state and local governmental agencies which possess permanent administrative, legal, or historical research values. Its collections do not include manuscript, newspaper, or other nonofficial sources.
Illinois State Archives : Online Databases
Illinois State Archives' searchable online databases, including Illinois statewide marriage & death indexes.
IRAD: Illinois Regional Archives Depository System
Illinois Regional Archives Depositories (IRAD) is a system administered by the State Archives to manage the archival records of local governments. For additional information about Illinois records read "A Guide to County Records in the Illinois Regional Archives" (1983). Note: IRAD at Northeastern Illinois University houses documents from local governments and organizations in Cook County.
- Searchable IRAD Local Governmental Records Holdings Database
Illinois State Historical Society
Founded in 1899, at the University of Illinois in Urbana, the Illinois State Historical Society is an independent not-for-profit organization dedicated to preserving, promoting, and publishing historical research about the Prairie State.
Digital Repositories
Illinois Digital Archives (IDA)
Illinois Digital Archives was developed to provide access to primary source materials in Illinois libraries, archives, museums, historical societies and other cultural institutions.
CARLI Digital Collections
Digital Collections by CARLI (Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois) is a growing image and special collections research resource for faculty, staff, students, and the public. By combining digital collections from a number of CARLI member institutions into a seamless environment, researchers are guaranteed richer search results on a variety of topics.
The Life & Times of Florence Kelley in Chicago 1891-1899
Digital Collections by Northwestern University Law Library.
Journals & Newspapers
Illinois History
Library has: v.46 (1992)-v.55 (2002) : v55 (2002) -
Journal of Illinois History
Indexed in America: History & Life
Library has print editions
To limit your search results in the database America: History & Life to articles published in the Journal of Illinois History,
- Select the Advanced Search option to see a screen with multiple search boxes
- Type "illinois history" into a search box and use the pull-down menu on the box label to select SO PUBLICATION NAME
- Type one or more descriptive keywords into a separate search box, as shown in the image below
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull-text and full-image articles from: The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984), Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010), The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010), The Baltimore Sun (1837-1996), The Boston Globe (1872-1990), Chicago Defender (1909 - 2010), Chicago Tribune (1849-2013), Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832 - 1953), Christian Science Monitor (1908-2009), The Cincinnati Enquirer (1841-1922), Cleveland Call and Post (1934–2010), Detroit Free Press (1831-1999), The Guardian and the Observer (1791-2003), Irish Times and the Weekly Irish Times (1859-2020), The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990), The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990), Kansas City Call (1919-2010), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010), Los Angeles Times (1881-2014), Louisville Defender (1951-2010), Michigan Chronicle (1939-2010), Minneapolis Star Tribune (1867-2001), New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010), The New York Times (1851-2018), New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010), St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003), St. Louis American (1949-2010), The Times of India (1838-2001), The Wall Street Journal (1889-2010), The Washington Post (1877-2006), Le Monde (1944-2000), Indianapolis Star (1903-2004)
Additional Research Guides
U.S. History research guide