Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Business Databases A to Z 

Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.northwestern.edu/content.php?pid=20502  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home            Print Page
  
 

Business Databases from Northwestern University Library A to Z

The Kellogg community also has access to several databases to which the Kellogg School of Management subscribes. To access Kellogg's databases, click here.

Below is a list of Northwestern University Library databases for business research.

 

ABI/Inform
Citations and abstracts of articles from more than 1,800 U.S. and international English-language business and management journals. Full-text available for more than 750 selected sources. Covers topics such as accounting and auditing, advertising and sales, data processing and information management, economics, finance and financial management, law and taxation, management science, marketing, and human resources.

AdSpender
Advertising expenditure data for company brands by media outlets over a rolling five year period. Outlets include television (network, cable, spot, syndication, Hispanic), radio (national, spot, local), magazines (consumer, business to business, local, Sunday, Hispanic), newspapers (national, local, Hispanic), internet, and outdoor.

American FactFinder
Includes census data and statistics from the Dicennial Census as well surveys and censuses from various Federal agencies, such as the American Community Survey, Economic Census, Population Estimates Program, Annual Survey of Manufactures, American Housing Survey, Foreign Trade Statistics, and others.

Asia Studies 
Covers the study of modern Asia Pacific. Brings together full-text reports from the region's research institutions covering 53 countries on a multitude of business, government, economic, and social issues.

Associations Unlimited
Descriptions of and contact information for associations, societies and organizations in the United States.

Bureau Van Dijk BankScope
Financial information on over 28,000 banks worldwide, historical data included. Access at reference dept. computers in the Main Library and Kellogg lab computers at Schaffner Library. 

Business & Industry Database
Citations, abstracts, and some full-text articles covering business and industrial news and research from nearly 1000 major U.S. and international trade journals, general business publications, and national & regional newspapers and newsletters.

Business Source Premier
Full text and bibliographic information from regional, national and international business and trade journals. Industry and company profiles from Datamonitor, market research reports from MarketWatch and country reports from CountryWatch.

Capital Changes
Available through CCH Tax Internet Research Network. Has historical capital changes information, such as stock splits, stock distributions, reverse stock splits, dividends, etc. Tip: Click on Browse on the upper left side of CCH landing page, then click on Explanations, Treatises and Guidebooks to view Capital Changes.

CCH Internet Tax ResearchNetwork
Full-text access to state and federal tax laws.

CQ Global Researcher
Covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and more.

Censtats
Statistics, demographic information and other data for the US from several Census Bureau databases. Includes county business patterns, construction and building permits, census tracts, occupation data, international trade data and more.

Chicago Tribune
Complete content of the daily newspaper from 1985 to the present.

China Data Online
Comprehensive online database focusing on economic statistics of China,
arranged by regions and categories. Includes monthly and yearly reports on
China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases about China's
population and economy at the provincial, county, and city level, and
financial indicators of more than 568 industrial branches. Also includes
statistical yearbooks, industrial and marketing surveys, and an atlas of China.

Company Annual Reports 1972-1984
Public company financials available through Lexis Nexis

Company Annual Reports 1984 – 1995
Public company financials available through LexisNexis

Conference Board 
Contains reports on various aspects of corporate governance.

DRI Basic Economics
US macroeconomic time series data including national income and product accounts, consumer and producer price indexes, money supply, interest and exchange rates, manufacturing and trade statistics, population and labor statistics, business conditions indicators, energy statistics, banking statistics, commodity prices, and other economic indicators from Federal and private organizations. The above link takes you to a page providing instructions for downloading and installing the DRI client on your own computer.

Datamonitor Reports
Available through Business Source Premier.

Datastream
Restricted to Kellogg community.

Derwent innovations index
Contains patent citation information.

EconLit
Citations and abstracts to articles from more than 400 economics journals as well as citations from edited collections, dissertations and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics. Produced by the American Economic Association.

Economist Intelligence Unit
**To view content and important information about remote access, enter 'Economist Intelligence Unit' in the search bar.  Then click on the i on the right side of the screen to see instructions for accessing content remotely.**  Database of country-level intelligence prepared by the Economist Intellligence Unit. Includes commerce, finance and economic reports on countries authored by EIU analysts as well as newsletters from various world regions. Search by country, by title of publication, or by words or phrases within the documents.

Europa Online
Covers political and economic information on over 250 countries and territories from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.

EXAC
Citations, abstracts and full-text of articles across a variety of academic disciplines. Includes some news and popular press magazines as well as some scholarly journals.

Factiva
Business, financial and general news from thousands of US and foreign sources as well as various reports and financials for publicly-traded companies. Sources include a variety of media types including newswires and news transcripts.

Forrester
Database is comprised of research covering emerging consumer technologies. Coverage is international.

Gartner Intraweb 
Online service providing product and market research reports for the information technology industry as well as reports on technologies used within various spheres of business and e-commerce.

GMID
Euromonitor's Global Market Information Database offers research reports on a variety of consumer products and services. Coverage is global with over 200 countries researched.

Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition
Citations, abstracts and full-text medical and health articles providing scholarly information about health care, including health care management.

Hoover's Online
Contains company information and financials, SEC filings, IPO information, competitive analysis. Provides company lists filtered by R&D expenditures, income growth and other factors.

IEEE
Has full-text access to literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics

International Financial Statistics
Contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas; exchange rate series for all Fund member countries, plus Aruba and the Netherlands Antilles; major Fund accounts series; and most other world, area, and country series from the IFS World Tables.

Internet & Personal Computing Abstracts

An index to articles in popular and professional computing magazines, including news, product and vendor guides, and reviews of software, hardware and books.

Investext
Wall Street analyst reports from brokerage houses and research firms available through Thomson One Banker. Tip: Click on the Research tab on the left side of the screen to view reports.

ISI Emerging Markets 
Business news and intelligence, and company, industry, financial, economic and political information from emerging market countries in Latin America, Asia and Europe. Includes corporate profiles, financial statements, industry and analyst reports, capital market quotes and indices, macroeconomic statistics and forecasts, legal and regulatory information, and opinion polls.

JSTOR
Digitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.

Lexis Nexis Academic
Legal, news and business information service which contains several thousand full-text publications. These include regional, national and international newspapers, news wires, magazines, trade journals, law reviews, statutory, administrative and case law and business publications.

Lexis Nexis Statistical
Statistical information from a variety of sources, including the U.S. government, research firms, trade associations, university studies, and international agencies.

MarketResearch.com Academic
Market research reports covering business services, consumer goods, food and beverages, demographics, heavy industry, life sciences and technology and media. ACCESS RESTRICTED to the Northwestern University community. Each user is responsible to use these electronic resources for individual, noncommercial use, without systematically downloading, distributing, or retaining substantial portions of information.

Materials Business File
Citations and abstracts focusing on industry news, international trade data, government regulations and management issues related to the metals and materials industries.

Mergent International News Reports

Mergent Bond Viewer
Contains corporate and municipal bond ratings and prices.  Search by company, industry and other critieria.

Mergent Online - cancelled
For company financials, see Orbis, Osiris, Thomson One Banker or Hoover's.  For company capital changes such as stock splits, see Capital Changes Reports.

Mergent Webreports
An archive of corporate and industrial related documents. Webreports contains more than 180,000 documents covering over 100 countries and industries using an easy to navigate and reliable system.

Mintel Market Research Reports
First-time users must create a login profile. Covers US, European and some Asian markets in the following: automotive, consumer lifestyles, food, household, media, retail, beauty, health, drink and tobacco, leisure, technology, clothing, electrical goods, travel, life stages, personal finances, and miscellaneous. Each user is responsible to use these electronic resources for individual, noncommercial use, without systematically downloading, distributing, or retaining substantial portions of information.

National Bureau of Economic Research
Working papers and journals from NBER.

Orbis
Has financials for public and private companies worldwide.  Tip:  Key resource for company financials.
Alternative search interface for Orbis, designed for the casual user.
Osiris
Has in-depth financials, going back to the eary 1980s for public companies.  Credit ratings, business composition by product segment and geography are included.  Tip:  Key resource for public company financials.

Policyfile
Research on public policy from governmental organizations, think tanks, universities and research firms.

Pratt's Guide to Venture Capital Sources
Click on above link and use supplied password. Enter Venture Economics site, then click on Pratt's Guide. Database is searchable by name, firm type, investment activity, geographic and industry preferences, stage preferences, and other criteria.

PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts to articles in the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including that of marketing and communications.

RDS TableBase 
Contains company and industry information such as size, share and rankings, all in statistical table format. Statistics are culled from associations, government agencies, articles and surveys.

Reference USA
Directory information on over 12 million U.S. businesses. Searchable by multiple criteria.

Restricted to Kellogg community

ScienceDirect
Full-text of Elsevier journals covering the sciences and social sciences. Includes many titles in business, management, and accounting.

Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN)

SourceOECD
SourceOECD is the online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic
Co-operation and Development.

Sports Business Research Network
Features news covering all facets of the sporting goods and sports marketing industry including sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship and more.

Standard & Poor's Netadvantage
Database of searchable content for several S&P publications, including the Industry Surveys, Bond Guide, Corporation Records, Dividend Record, Earnings Guide, Mutual Fund Reports, The Outlook, Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, Security Dealers of North America, Stock Guide, and Stock Reports.

SRDS (Standard Rate and Data Service)
Database of media rates and information consists of cataloged entries of more than 100,000 U.S. and international media properties that are updated monthly. Access includes Business Publication Advertising Source, Direct Marketing List Source, Radio Advertising Source, Interactive Advertising Source, Newspaper Advertising Source, Consumer Magazine Advertising Source and TV and Cable Source.

Stat-USA/Internet
Access to US economic data as well as internation market research reports, Best Market Reports, country analysis and other documents related to international trade.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Contains a wealth of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States from across multiple federal agencies. Covers population, health, education, law enforcement, government finances, labor, income, business enterprise, agriculture, natural resources, construction, trade, manufactures, trade, arts, recreation, and comparative international statistics.

Thomson One Banker
Financial information from publicly-traded U.S. and global companies.

Transport 
Citations to articlesin transportation planning,operations, systems & technology.

TreasuryDirect
Has U.S. government bond information including historical auction results.

Value Line Investment Survey
Investment analysis on over 1,700 companies, including stock price data and performance, business description, and detailed operating information. Latest 3 months only.

World Federation of Exchanges
Association of regulated exchanges around the world.

 
 

Librarians

Carol Doyle

312-503-6618

c-doyle4@northwestern.edu

Jami Xu

847-491-8961

jamixu@northwestern.edu

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait