Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Newspaper Articles from Spain, Portugal, and Latin America
The databases for newspapers are ordered below from most historical to most current.
World Newspaper Archive
This is a searchable collection of 19th and 20th century historical newspapers from Latin America, Africa, and South Asia. This collection can be cross searched with the America's Historical Newspaper collection.
Access World News
Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Access World News is updated daily. This database combines news articles from more than 12,000 sources and over 200 countries. Much of the material in non-English languages has been translated into English, but a significant amount of material is presented in the original language.
Hemeroteca Digital / Biblioteca Nacional de España
La Hemeroteca Digital forma parte del proyecto Biblioteca Digital Hispánica, que tiene como objetivo la consulta y difusión pública a través de Internet del Patrimonio Bibliográfico Español conservado en la Biblioteca Nacional de España.
Hemeroteca Nacional Digital de Mexico
Published by UNAM and the Biblioteca Nacional de Mexico, this database includes page images and full-text search of nearly 600 titles ranging from 1722 to 1978. Material still covered by copyright is accessible only at the Biblioteca Nacional de Mexico.
Hemeroteca Digital Brasileiria
Sponsored by the National Library of Brazil, this database includes page images and full-text search of titles from the 18th, 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. In Portuguese.
Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library
The Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library (CNDL) is supported by the Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC), a cooperative digital library for newspapers resources from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. Coverage varies but covers the 20th to 21st century.
Online access to hundreds of newspapers from more than 90 countries, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title.
Google Maps' site of the world's online newspapers sites. Find & translate some 10,000 newspapers. Content updated daily.
The databases below are for news on or by the Latino/Hispanic diaspora in the United States.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
A compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.
Ethnic NewsWatch indexes newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press, offering both national and regional coverage. Ethnic NewsWatch presents multi-ethnic and multi-cultural publications in one resource covering 1959-present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Provides full-text PDF articles from several major U.S. newspapers, including the New York Times (1851-2013), Wall Street Journal (1889-2000), Washington Post (1877-2000), Los Angeles Times (1881-2012), Chicago Tribune (1849-2011), Chicago Defender (1909-2010), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Boston Globe (1872-1985), and many others.
Naxos Music Library
For access to Naxos Music Library via mobile app, click here
Naxos Music Library (NML) is the world's largest online classical music library. The library offers the catalogs of more than 50 classical, jazz and world music labels with more labels joining every month. Among the labels whose catalogs are included in the service are leading independent classical labels such as BIS, Chandos, CPO, Haenssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Vanguard Classics, VOX, and of course Naxos. World music content is provided by ARC, Celestial Harmonies and others.
Naxos Music Library: Jazz
Naxos Music Library Jazz offers thousands of tracks of jazz from over 2,300 albums. Hundreds of jazz artists are represented. Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz. Naxos Jazz, along with Prophone and Proprius, brings you the world of international Jazz, covering Sweden and Scandinavian jazz artist.
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound
Smithsonian Global Sound is a network of international cultural institutions working to preserve and distribute music from archives worldwide, and to foster appreciation for traditional roots music. Through its Web site, Global Sound will offer audio and video downloads, streaming media, educational resources, and detailed liner notes to music lovers, students, historians, teachers, and the academic community.
Videos and Films
New World Cinema: Independent Features & Shorts, 1990-present
The collection includes over 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and Global Lens.
Filmakers Library Online
The collection includes streamed documentaries that are used in humanities and social science classrooms. Topical coverage is contemporary and relevant across the curriculumrace and gender studies, human rights,global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science, psychology, arts, and literature.
Video Encyclopedia of the Twentieth Century
Original footage documenting social, political, and cultural history as recorded by film & television news cameras.
Hemispheric Institute Digital Video Library
The Hemispheric Institute Digital Video Library, a collaboration between New York University Libraries and NYU's Hemispheric Institute of Performance and Politics, provides a digital venue for documenting the expression of social and political life through performance in the many cultures and political landscapes of the Americas. Includes filmed theater productions and documentaries from Latin America.
Remezcla started as a grassroots project among writers and creatives that now covers new Latin culture and events that are outside the "mainstream." Covers literature, film, music, links to streaming sources, and is based in New York, L.A., and Mexico City.