Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Librarian for Spanish & Portuguese
Searching for Relevant English-Language Sources?
Northwestern University Libraries subscribes to hundreds of English-language databases that include full-text from international scholarly journal articles in all the disciplines, and would include content about Spanish- and Portuguese-speaking countries. See some of those databases below. For each discipline, there are library research guides to get you started, but what's featured on this guide for the Department of Spanish and Portuguese are resources in Spanish and Portuguese.
NUsearch is the main search tool for Northwestern University Library, combining the library catalog with a wealth of other databases and online collections.
The world's most comprehensive catalog of library holdings, particularly (though not exclusively) from North American libraries, containing over 2,000,000,000 records from over 10,000 libraries.
MLA International Bibliography
Compiled by the Modern Language Association, the MLA International Bibliography lists articles and books in the fields of literature, language, and linguistics in the modern languages, as well as folklore, film studies, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Literature Criticism Online
Literature Criticism Online is a database of 10 individual Gale reference titles representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.
Literature Resource Center
Biographies, bibliographies and analysis of over 115,000 authors. In-depth coverage of 2000 of the most studied authors.
Digitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
Northwestern University Departments and Programs