Librarian for Spanish & Portuguese
Michelle Guittar
Contact:
Main Library
Northwestern University
1970 Campus Dr
Evanston, IL 60208
Northwestern University
1970 Campus Dr
Evanston, IL 60208
847-491-8961
Searching for Relevant English-Language Sources?
Northwestern University Libraries subscribes to hundreds of English-language databases that include full-text from international scholarly journal articles in all the disciplines, and would include content about Spanish- and Portuguese-speaking countries. See some of those databases below. For each discipline, there are library research guides to get you started, but what's featured on this guide for the Department of Spanish and Portuguese are resources in Spanish and Portuguese.
- NUsearch This link opens in a new windowNUsearch is the main search tool for Northwestern University Library, combining the library catalog with a wealth of other databases and online collections.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowThe world's most comprehensive catalog of library holdings, particularly (though not exclusively) from North American libraries, containing over 2,000,000,000 records from over 10,000 libraries.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowCompiled by the Modern Language Association, the MLA International Bibliography lists articles and books in the fields of literature, language, and linguistics in the modern languages, as well as folklore, film studies, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and historical aspects of printing and publishing.
- Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new windowAn extensive compilation of literary commentary available representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras, and genre.
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowProvides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analayses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, essayist, poets, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Includes links to: Dictionary of literary biography, Contemporary authors, Contemporary literary criticism, and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDigitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
