Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Books on Spanish- and Portuguese-Language Literature and Culture
Northwestern Library's discovery search tool for the vast collection of our books, journals, journal and newspaper articles, videos, sound recordings, digital images and more.
The world's most comprehensive catalog of library holdings, particularly (though not exclusively) from North American libraries, containing over 2,000,000,000 records from over 10,000 libraries.
Finding literature in Spanish and Portuguese in the library is relatively simple -- go to the fourth floor!
||Library of Congress
860 Spanish-language Literature (4 East)
PQ6001-8929 Spanish-language Literature (4 North)
|869 Portuguese-language Literature (4 East)
||PQ9000-9999 Portuguese-language Literature (4 North)
Dicio / Dicionário Online de Português
Online dictionary for Portuguese in Portuguese. Formed out of a collaboration between faculty and journalists from Universidade do Porto, Portugal, Universidade Federal de Ouro Preto, Escola Superior de Educação do Instituto Politécnico do Porto and Universidade do Minho.
Dicionário Brasileiro da Língua Portuguesa
Totalmente revisto, atualizado e ampliado, o novo dicionário, Michaelis Dicionário Brasileiro da Língua Portuguesa, está disponível para consulta apenas em formato digital.
Online Portals of Spanish- and Portuguese-Language Literature
Ibero-American Electronic Text Series
Electronic versions of works by important Ibero-American writers, such as Miguel de Cervantes, Hernán Cortes, Esteban Echevarría, Eugenio María de Hostos, and Juana Inés de la Cruz.
Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes, Colecciones de literatura
This project hopes to digitize, catalog and place online thousands of literary works in Spanish. Some of the many authors included are Miguel de Cervantes, Garcilaso de la Vega, San Juan de la Cruz, Francisco de Quevedo y Villegas, and Lope de Vega.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
A partnership of more than sixty major research institutions with Google, the Hathi Trust Digital Library includes all the book images from these libraries that have been digitized by Google. Only out-of-copyright images (generally pre-1923) can be displayed, or others where the permission of the copyright holder has been obtained, though both in-copyright and out-of-copyright materials can be searched. Out-of-copyright books can be downloaded by Northwestern users who register with the site.
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
This resource includes works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's including books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. Included are 29,000 works based Joseph Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time.
Online Reference Tools for Latin American Studies
HAPI Online: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Citation index to articles, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 social science and humanities journals. Coverage includes Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States, 1970-present. Many of the citations are linked to full text.
Oxford Bibliographies: Latin America
Developed cooperatively with scholars worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies in Latin American Studies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across the field of Latin American Studies.
HLAS: Handbook of Latin American Studies
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
Latin American Women Writers
Latin American Women Writers is an extensive searchable collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America. Also included are essays by Latin American feminists and about the feminist movement that address both the universal concerns of women in every age and the distinctive issues of their struggles in the region. The database features 103,624 pages of prose, poetry and drama.
Oxford Reference Online
Online version of many Oxford University Press reference works, ranging from specialized dictionaries and companions to major reference works such as the Encyclopedia of Human Rights, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States, and the Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History, among many others.
Searchable database of several hundred subject encyclopedias and other reference works across all subject areas, but with particular strengths in the social sciences and humanities. It includes a number of major reference works, and is Northwesterns largest single collection of reference materials. A good source for authoritative background information.
Literature Resource Center
Biographies, bibliographies and analysis of over 115,000 authors. In-depth coverage of 2000 of the most studied authors.
World Biographical Information System WBIS
Over 3.6 million short biographical entries for individuals who lived across the world from ancient times to the present. Includes full text images of the original sources, usually older biographical dictionaries. Especially valuable for locating information on hard-to-find individuals from the past.
Current Biography Illustrated
Current Biography Illustrated contains profiles of individuals living at the time of publication, often at the height of, or even the beginning of, their fame or notoriety. Occasionally a revised biography will be published, and a brief obituary, but published biographies are never revised in light of later events, so a useful source for seeing how individuals were perceived at the time they were active. Illustrations for most individuals are included.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2008-05-09
The original 1995 encyclopedia was an award winner from both the American Library Association and the American Historical Association. This edition adds nearly 600 entirely new topics, replaces some 150 obsolete entries, and also provides substantial revisions to hundreds more. Every one of the 5,700+ entries has been reviewed for currency of content and bibliography. Includes hundreds of photographs, national statistics, and current events.
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2004-03-25
The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day.
Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature by
Call Number: Request Online Large 868.909 E565
Publication Date: 1997-02-01
A comprehensive, encyclopedic guide to the authors, works, and topics crucial to the literature of Central and South America and the Caribbean, the Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature includes over 400 entries written by experts in the field of Latin American studies.
Latin American Writers by
Call Number: Request Online Large 868.909 L3573
Publication Date: 1905-06-01
This collection of bio-critical essays on Latin American writers from the 16th century to the present, is enhanced by Supplement I, covering writers who have come to the fore since the publication of the base set in 1989.
Companion to Portuguese Literature by
Call Number: Main Library Stacks 869.09 C737
Publication Date: 2009-11-19
This companion volume offers an introduction to European Portuguese literature for university-level readers. It consists of a chronological overview of Portuguese literature from the twelfth century to the present day.
Gran enciclopedia de España
Call Number: Request Online 946.003 G748
Publication Date: 1990-2005
Articles and audiovisual contents on all aspects of the history and culture of Spain, including that country's historical presence around the world. In Spanish.