Finding Books
Use NUSearch, Northwestern University Library's online discovery system, to find books, journals, microfilms, and other library materials. For tips on using NUSearch to find books, follow the link below. Books may be available in electronic as well as print format. A Guide to Using E-books is available online.
- Hathi Trust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowA partnership of more than sixty major research institutions with Google, the Hathi Trust Digital Library includes all the book images from these libraries that have been digitized by Google. Only out-of-copyright images (generally pre-1923) can be displayed, or others where the permission of the copyright holder has been obtained, though both in-copyright and out-of-copyright materials can be searched. Out-of-copyright books can be downloaded by Northwestern users who register with the site.
Journal Articles
The databases listed below will provide indexing to journal articles. JSTOR provides full-text. America: History & Life and Historical Abstracts provide some full text. When using America: History & Life or Historical Abstracts, click the 
button to track down the full text of articles, if the full text is not already available in the database. To find these and other databases or electronic journals from NU Libraries, you can also go E Journals A-Z and Databases A-Z .
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowAmerica: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to the present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage but also included are abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
- Historical AbstractsHistorical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women’s history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
- JSTORProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in numerous fields of the humanities and social sciences, including history. Coverage varies for each title.
- HAPI OnlineHispanic American Periodicals Index; covers periodicals dealing with Latin American and hispanic U. S.
- HLAS Online: Handbook of Latin American StudiesPremier database on Latin American studies, compiled by the Library of Congress.
- Periodicals Index Online and Periodicals Archive OnlineTable of contents information from thousands of scholarly and semi-scholarly periodicals published between 1770 and 1995, in a variety of Western languages.