Key Resources for History
Use this site to access information about borrowing and renewing procedures, policies, obtaining borrowing privileges, and more.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowAmerica: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to the present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage but also included are abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. The database indexes academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Citation Styles & Tools
- How to Avoid PlagiarismFrom the Office of the Provost, Northwestern University
- Chicago Manual of Style OnlinePrint also available in multiple locations, including Main Reference (Periodicals Room)
- MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th edition (2009)Main, Main Reference,
Call number 808.027 M685 - EndNoteEndNote is a subscription software program designed to store and manipulate bibliographic information (your citations). This link takes you to Northwestern University Libraries' full guide to using EndNote.
- ZoteroZotero is a free bibliographic manager for your citations that is usable with through your computer's web browser. This link takes you to Northwestern University Libraries' full guide to using Zotero.