Also available in print. W. W. Abbot, editor, Dorothy Twohig, associate editor, Philander D. Chase, Beverly H. Runge, and Frederick Hall Schmidt, assistant editors. (Charlottesville: University of Virginia, 1983- ) Call number: 973.4 W31Y.p. In four series, covers the Colonial period, Revolutionary War, Confederation, and Retirement of George Washington.

Also availabile inprint. Julian P. Boyd, editor ; Lyman H. Butterfield ... [et al.], associate editors. (Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1950-2011). Call number: 973.4 J45pa. The Papers of Thomas Jefferson is currently a 42-volume series containing not only the 18,000 letters written by Jefferson but also, in full or in summary, the more than 25,000 letters written to him. Check the index!

Robert J. Taylor, editor ; Mary-Jo Kline, associate editor ; Gregg L. Lint, assistant editor. (Cambridge, Mass: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1977- ). Call number: 973.4 A21 1961 ser.3 v.2. (Also on microfilm in the Periodical/Newspaper Reading Room, Film 5476. Inquire at Circulation Desk.)

Consists of approximately 12,000 items housed in the Library of Congress Manuscript Division, captured in some 72,000 digital images, including correspondence, personal notes, drafts of letters and legislation, an autobiography, legal and financial documents, and miscellaneous manuscripts.

In Spanish. Available in the library, call number 980.02 B689e.

In Spanish. Available online via HathiTrust.

In Spanish. Available from Interlibrary Loan.

via HeinOnline

The American State Papers, comprising a total of thirty-eight physical volumes, contain the legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789 to 1838. The collection includes documents that cover the critical historical gap from 1789 to the printing of the first volume of the U.S. Serial Set in 1817 [The Serial Set contains the House and Senate Documents and the House and Senate Reports.]

The Annals of Congress, formally known as The Debates and Proceedings in the Congress of the United States, cover the 1st Congress through the first session of the 18th Congress, from 1789 to 1824. The Annals were not published contemporaneously, but were compiled between 1834 and 1856, using the best records available, primarily newspaper accounts. Speeches are paraphrased rather than presented verbatim, but the record of debate is nonetheless fuller than that available from the House and Senate Journals.

Based on the renowned American bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol’s Supplement to Evans’ American bibliography. Serves as the foundation for research on every aspect of 17th and 18th century American life. Upon completion, Evans Digital will consist of over 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images.

Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819) provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century. Based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph B. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker and supplemented by thousands of new items. Offers fully searchable text and a browse feature with topical indexes. Bibliographic records created by the American Antiquarian Society are integrated into the database, providing additional access points.

Includes: Early American Newspapers, series 1-13

North American Women’s Letters and Diaries (NWLD) includes the immediate experiences of 1,017 women, as revealed in more than 120,000 pages of diaries and letters ... When complete, the collection will include more than 150,000 pages of primary materials spanning more than 300 years ... The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.

Description for the website: Beginning in 1837 the printer Peter Force, who also served as mayor of Washington, D.C., devoted sixteen years to collecting thousands of pamphlets, booklets, and newspaper articles pertaining to the "Origin, Settlement, and Progress of the Colonies in North America" from the Revolutionary Era in order to preserve them for future generations. He published them in a set of nine large volumes that he called the American Archives. By the late twentieth century Force's collection of materials from the years 1774-6 had become a valuable scholarly resource, as it contained the only surviving copies of many important documents.

Based on Joseph Sabin’s landmark bibliography (Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time), this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900’s. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes documents from the United States and Europe, as well as other parts of the world. In addition to newspaper collections and books published in the antebellum era, Slavery and Anti-Slavery contains documents from several archives originally available only on microfilm."