Databases for Business Research
Using business databases allows you to search by keyword or industry to find articles across many different publications. Much of the content is not available on the open web and is only accessible to you via these databases using your netID.
-
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowFull text articles from regional, national and international business and trade journals. Some titles are available here that are not available in ABI Inform Global.
-
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new windowMergent Intellect is a flexible web-based application that offers access to business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles for private and public U.S and international companies.
As of 2019 this product contains the content of Hoover's Online. -
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new windowCovers US, European and some Asian markets in the following: automotive, consumer lifestyles, food, household, media, retail, beauty, health, drink and tobacco, leisure, technology, clothing, electrical goods, travel, life stages, personal finances, and miscellaneous. Access restricted to current NU faculty, students and staff.
-
Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is currenting experiencing intermittent connection issues for some users. If you encounter this problem, connect to Northwestern GlobalProtect VPN and then access Statista through this URL (https://www.statista.com/).
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries. -
WARC.com (Advertising and Marketing Knowledge) This link opens in a new windowFeatures in-depth integrated marketing communication analysis and commentary for brands around the world. Provides topical analysis, case studies, and data.
Databases for Communications Research
The following databases specialize in communications studies research and index journals that focus on communications, health communications, organizational communications, media studies, social media, and more.
-
Communication Source This link opens in a new windowCombining the content of Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts, this comprehensive resource offers content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields. Coverage goes back to 1915.
-
Oxford Bibliographies: Communication This link opens in a new windowOffers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the study of communication as a multidisciplinary effort to understand the constant, varied, and complex transmission and exchange of information, knowledge, and ideas. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Databases across disciplines
Depending on your research question, you may need to utilize databases outside of communications and business. Research questions within MSC commonly fall in areas related to psychology, sociology, and education. Here are a few other resources you may want to use to find literature for your projects.
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Psychological Association, this database is a comprehensive index to the professional and academic literature in psychology, counseling and related disciplines. Covers 1860-present.
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSociological Abstracts provides citations and abstracts to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Content coverage includes culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, race and ethnicity, social change and economic development, and more. 1952-Present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.
-
ERIC This link opens in a new windowDatabase sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature, including pedagogy, counseling and psychology. Covers 1966-present.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books.Powerful tools allow you to search and see what articles in the database have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
Your Librarian
Chris Davidson
he / him / his
Contact:
2 North - Core Library
University Library
847.491.4090
Website
University Library
847.491.4090
Subjects: Communication Studies, Journalism
Related Guides
-
Communication StudiesKey resources and databases for students within the Communication Studies field.
-
Consumer Marketing & DemographicsResources and databases on consumer behavior, demographics and lifestyles.
-
Health Care ManagementIndustry overviews, health statistics resources, and resources for company and provider research.
-
IndustriesResources for industry overviews, operating ratios, and business news.