Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NUsearch is the main search tool for NUL and contains records for books, articles, and media. In most cases, NUsearch is the first place you should go when starting your research.
The world's most comprehensive catalog of library holdings, particularly from North American Libraries. Use WorldCat to search for items Northwestern Libraries does not have.
If we don't have it here, you can ILL it. Create your own account with Interlibrary Loan to borrow items outside of NU.
Recommend a Purchase
Is there a book, DVD, journal, or database you'd like the library to purchase? Submit a suggestion!
International Student Orientation
Combining the content of Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts, this comprehensive resource offers content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields. Coverage goes back to 1915.
Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
A comprehensive index covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing and produced for a broad target audience, from film scholars to general viewers. Subject coverage includes: film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
ACM Digital Library
Full text of every article ever published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.