Research Guides: *Social Science Data Resources: Frequently Used Data

Key Resources

Remember to check the key resources:

ICPSR Data Archive This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of social science datasets for research and instruction. A first place to start in looking for social science data for secondary analysis.
Roper Center For Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new window
one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion.

US Decennial Censuses
data.census.gov
Data.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau and has been designed to simplify access to the Bureau’s many data products. This chart shows data available. The 2020 Census data will be released on this site.
more...less...
The American FactFinder website will cease March 2020. No new data has been posted since June 2019.

Make an Appointment

Staff in the University Libraries can assist you with:

what data is available
where to find software for analysis
directing you to self-paced software learning resources

NUIT Research Computing provides support for a variety of software and analytic methods.

Frequently Used Data

Almost all agencies of the United States government provide access to related data at their agency websites. Data.gov provides a central search portal for open government data. While U.S. federal agencies are best represented at Data.gov, you will also identify state, local, and selected non-governmental data.

Consumer Expenditure Survey (CES) Series
The Consumer Expenditure Survey (CES) series provides information on the buying habits of American consumers and data to support periodic revisions of the Consumer Price Index.
Current Population Survey
A monthly survey of approximately 50,000 households conducted by the Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. The survey has been conducted for more than 50 years. A detailed demographic supplement is conducted annually in March, and supplements on other topics, including computer use and school enrollment. The University of Minnesota provides access to CPS micro-data via the IPUMS project.
General Social Survey
General Social Survey (GSS) is a long running survey of social, cultural and political indicators. In addition to the GSS, topic modules include computer and Internet, racial and ethnic prejudice, and child mental-health stigma. The GSS has participated since 1985 in the International Social Survey Program.
GSS Data Explorer
Explore GSS data gathered 1972-present without using statistical analysis software. Focus on trends within the data.
Minnesota Population Center
Provides microdata and summary demographic data sets for the US and other countries. Historic and current data available.
more...less...
Training videos and online modules available to support use of data, data extraction tools, and online data analysis tools.
National Education Longitudinal Study 1988
A sample of eighth-graders surveyed in 1988 on a range of topics. A sample were resurveyed through four follow-ups in 1990, 1992, 1994, and 2000. The study has four types of data files - student, teacher, parent, and school - although note each type is available for each survey year.
National Longitudinal Survey of Youth 1979 and 1997
The National Longitudinal Surveys of Youth are designed to document the transition from school to work and into adulthood. They collect extensive information about youths' labor market behavior and educational experiences over time. Data are also available from SSDS.
Panel Study of Income Dynamics (PSID) Series
The Panel Study of Income Dynamics (PSID) series was begun in 1968 to fill the need for a better understanding of the determinants of family income and its changes. Longitudinal survey of US individuals and the families in which they reside.
Survey of Consumer Finances
Conducted every three years, this survey collects information on the assets, liabilities and other financial characteristics of households. It is the only U.S. survey that contains an oversample of wealthy households. Sample Size is about 4,500 families.
Survey of Income and Program Participation
A longitudinal U. S. government survey of the financial status of American households conducted since 1984. Covers government transfer and service programs, pension coverage, housing affordability, financial assistance for education, among other topics. Data may also be accessed via ICPSR. Be aware, however, this is a difficult set of surveys to use. The National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) also makes SIPP data and documentation available along with Stata, SPSS, and SAS programs for reading the data. Users may find the NBER site easier to use.
World Values Survey
The series is designed to enable a crossnational comparison of values and norms on a wide variety of topics and to monitor changes in values and attitudes across the globe. A variety of questions on religion and morality were included. Data is currently available at ICPSR for 1981-1984, 1990-1993, 1995-1997, and 1999-2004.