Personal registration using Northwestern email required for downloading.
This web site provides search and browsing access to abstracts and data sets in the world's largest archive of computerized social science data. Search or browse title of study, principal investigator, words in abstract, or study number. Browse major research categories.
Hosted at Syracuse University, QDR stores and preserves data and the website provides detailed guidance on key topics such as data management, research involving human participants, and teaching with qualitative data. QDR staff also regularly consult with scholars about their Data Management Plans (DMP).
Personal registration needed in order to access datasets.
Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.
The Government Information Department has a rich collection of official copies in print of the Census of United States conducted between 1790 and 1970. We also have a series of GeoLytics Census Data Products for 1970, 1980, 1990, and 2000 Census and CD/DVDs for 1990 and 2000 Census distributed by U.S. Census Bureau. For other historic census data, you may also check the University of Virginia Library’ Historical Census site.
Data.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau and has been designed to simplify access to the Bureau’s many data products. This chart shows data available. The 2020 Census data will be released on this site.
Provides selected historical data from the U.S. Decennial Census going back to 1790, as well as current data from the Census and the American Community Survey, and some religion data. Interactive mapping features allow you to generate small thematic maps from the data.
Features a list of data resources from Federal government agencies. Includes such topics as, business, economics, defense, international relations, environment, energy, agriculture, family, geospatial data, health, nutrition, jobs and education, public safety, science, technology, transportation, and recreation.
The REgistry of REsearch Data REpositories is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions. re3data.org promotes a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data.
Launched September 2018, Google builds on those organizations using open data practices. " ...you can find references to most datasets in environmental and social sciences, as well as data from other disciplines including government data and data provided by news organizations, such as ProPublica."