Data.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau and has been designed to simplify access to the Bureau’s many data products. This chart shows data available. The 2020 Census data will be released on this site.

This study follows a birth cohort of mostly unwed parents and their children over a five-year period. The study was designed to provide information on unwed parents, as well as the effects of policies on family formation and child wellbeing.

The AECF is a non-profit organization that works on behalf of disadvantaged children and collects data on benchmarks of child well-being.

Women were asked questions about fertility and contraception, including contraceptive use and pregnancy histories, desired family size, and expectation of further children. The survey reports background information about the respondent and spouse such as education, religion, ethnic origin, occupation, and earnings.

This is a longitudinal population-based survey of families and households in the United States designed to look at the causes and consequences of changes in family and household structure. Three survey waves are available: Wave 1: 1987-1988; Wave 2: 1992-1994; Wave 3: 2001-2002. (Citation information for each wave is available on the survey's home page.)

The National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect at Cornell University focuses on the field of child maltreatment. NDACAN acquires microdata from leading researchers and national data collection efforts and makes the datasets available to the research community for secondary analysis. NOTE: Application must be made directly to NDACAN for permission to use the data.

This surwey provides a comprehensive look at the well-being of children and adults, identifying differences among the 13 states which have been studied in depth: Alabama, California, Colorado, Florida, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Jersey, New York, Texas, Washington, and Wisconsin. Sample of over 40,000 families per round.

Topics well-represented in the archive include sexual orientation, gender roles and the status of women, race, and socio-economic status. Application may need to be made directly to the Murray Research Archive for permission to use the data.

These data were collected by researchers at the University of Pensnylvania with the assistance of a registry of all twins born in Minnesota between 1936-55. A questionnaire was mailed out to twins in the registry starting in May 1994. Questions cover education, family status, health, and jobs held. Data are available through application only. Sample size is 3682.

The Early Childhood Longitudinal Study (ECLS) program includes two longitudinal studies that examine child development, school readiness, and early school experiences. The birth cohort (ECLS-B) is a sample of children born in 2001 and followed from birth through kindergarten entry. The kindergarten cohort class of 1998-1999 (ECLS-K) is a sample of children followed from kindergarten through the eighth grade. The ECLS program provides national data on children's status at birth and at various points thereafter, including their transitions to nonparental care, early education programs, and school. The ECLS also provides data to analyze the relationships among a wide range of family, school, community, and individual variables with children's development, early learning, and performance in school. Data can be downloaded from the ICPSR.

Annual, national statistical database of information about public elementary and secondary schools (e.g., enrollment by grade, student characteristics, number of teachers) and school districts (e.g., number of students, number of high school graduates in the previous year).

A survey of the characteristics and conditions of America's public and private schools and the teachers and principals who work in them.

These surveys cover learning at all ages, from early childhood to school age to adulthood. Surveys include adult education (1991, 1995, 1999, 2001, 2003), early childhood program participation (1991, 1995, 1999, 2001), and parent and family involvement in education (1996, 1999, 2003) among others.

IPEDS is a system of surveys designed to collect data from all primary providers of postsecondary education. Study components include earned degrees/completions, fall enrollment, staff, finance, institutional characteristics, salaries, tenure, and fringe benefits of full-time instructional faculty.