Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Humphrey Winterton Collection of East African Photographs: 1860-1960: GALLERIES

The website for the Humphrey Winterton Collection of East African Photographs: 1860 - 1960 was created in order to increase access to the materials in the collection, which includes of 7,610 photographs, 230 glass lantern slides, and various other materia

Note

Update for December 2020: We are in the process of migrating our Winterton photographs from their old website to our new Repository. The images in these Galleries may become temporarily unavailable at times during this process. Thank you for your understanding.

GALLERIES

GALLERY - LESSON PLAN

This series of images is a representative sample of photographs from the entire Winterton collection selected for use in lesson plan development.

GALLERY - POLITICAL LEADERS

This series of photographs of leaders includes includes images of traditional local leaders. It also includes images of historical figures from Ethiopia, Kenya, Uganda and Zanzibar.

GALLERY - KENYAN BACKGROUND OF PRESIDENT BARACK OBAMA

President Barack Obama's father, Barack Obama, Sr., came from Kogelo, in Western Kenya. His ethnic heritage is Luo although during the colonial period the word 'kavirondo' was used more frequently than Luo. The images in this gallery depict the people of Western Kenya, Lake Victoria which is adjacent to this area and Kisumu, the largest city in the region during colonial times.