Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Humphrey Winterton Collection of East African Photographs: 1860-1960: ABOUT THE WEBSITE

The website for the Humphrey Winterton Collection of East African Photographs: 1860 - 1960 was created in order to increase access to the materials in the collection, which includes of 7,610 photographs, 230 glass lantern slides, and various other materia

ABOUT THE WEBSITE

The website for the Humphrey Winterton Collection of East African Photographs: 1860 - 1960 was created in order to increase access to the materials in the collection, which includes of 7,610 photographs, 230 glass lantern slides, and various other materials depicting life in Africa from 1860 - 1960. The original materials are housed in the Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies at Northwestern University, the largest separate library for the study of Africa in existence.

Our goal of increased access is not limited to students and faculty at Northwestern. The website aims to provide scholarly sources for researchers at all learning institutions, from elementary schools in Chicago to leading research universities around the world. This site was therefore designed for a broad range of users and needs, and we welcome your feedback on means of improvement.

Another special feature is Winterton in the Classroom, which provides K-12 teachers and students with lenses through which to view the collection, sample searches, and suggestions for classroom projects.