Research Guides: Gender &amp; Sexuality Studies: What's New for 2024-25

New Subscriptions and Open Access Publishing Support

The New York Times All Access Subscription provides "as published" look and feel for the national newspaper of record and includes all content components, i.e. News, Games, Cooking, Wirecutter, Audio, and The Athletic.

New York Times This link opens in a new window
INITIAL REGISTRATION, (http://accessnyt.com)
• Requires initial registration with Northwestern email address (enter and select "Northwestern University - Evanston, Illinois"). Follow directions for registration while on or off campus.
• Subsequent access requires login at nytimes.com site with that email and password using any device.
• Existing paid New York Times subscribers must cancel their paid subscription before authenticating via Northwestern Library's subscription (if a Northwestern email address was used for the personal subscription).

Research Skills & Methods

Sage Campus
Supports the teaching and learning of skills and research methods through 280+ hours of structured online learning. Our online courses are self-paced and instructor-led, comprising an engaging mix of Sage-quality content, video, interactives, and formative assessments. The topics cover critical skills and research methods for across all stages of academic study; navigating information, data literacy, research skills, data science skills, and getting published. Content can be self-selected or assigned by an instructor.

NOTE: Initial access requires registration with Northwestern email address. Registered users can access from anywhere at: https://classroom.sagepub.com

Expansion of Support for Open Access Publishing by Northwestern Authors

Cambridge University Press journals a read & publish agreement through the BTAA for a transformative open access model in which Northwestern corresponding authors can choose to publish their research articles, case reports, brief reports, review articles, and rapid communications in gold or hybrid journals without needing to pay the article processing charges. Those Northwestern authors whom have already published in a Cambridge journal title in 2024 will be asked if they wish to now have it flipped to open access with any fees paid previously for the article to be refunded. The following six (6) titles are excluded from this agreement: Africa Bibliography; Annales: Histoire, Sciences Sociales; Annales: Histoire, Sciences Sociales (English edition); Behavioral and Brain Sciences; PMLA / Publications of the Modern Language Association of America; New Surveys in the Classics. This agreement runs from January 1, 2024 to December 31, 2026 and is based on article acceptance date.

Definitions, in case refresher would be helpful:

BTAA = Big Ten Academic Alliance
Gold open access
Hybrid open access
This is a listing of CUP Journals – please note that 6 titles named above are excluded from this agreement.

Additional Open Access publisher agreements supporting NU Authors https://www.library.northwestern.edu/research/scholarly/open-access.html

Digitized Primary Source Collections

A selection of newly available e-reources to support teaching and research. To keep up-to-date subscribe to the New E-Resources Blog and be sure to ask if you don’t find what you need!

Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new window
Most recently NU Libraries acquired part 6 -- Community and Identity in North America.The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Northwestern acquired the 2023 edition to supplement our previous access which now totals 124 document projects and archives with more than 5,100 documents and 175,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by 2,800 primary authors pertinent to the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.
Indigenous Peoples: North America This link opens in a new window
This database allows users to trace the history of Native Peoples in North America from colonial relations in the 1600s to twentieth-century issues such as civil rights. Includes manuscript collections, rare books and monographs, newspapers, periodicals, census records, legal documents, maps, drawings and sketches, oral histories, and photos, as well as video content from the Bureau of Indian Affairs.

Indigenous Peoples of North America, Part I: Provides users with a robust, diverse, informative source that will enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of indigenous peoples in the United States and Canada. Researchers will explore the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more. These are the primary sources that take students beyond the facts and figures of history and into a deeper understanding of indigenous peoples.

Indigenous Peoples of North America, Part II: The Indian Rights Association, 1882–1986 provides a near complete record of the efforts of the first organization to address Native American interests and rights. This collection includes the contains incoming and outgoing correspondence; organizational records; printed material (including early pamphlets and publications both by the Indian Rights Association and other American Indian and Indian-related organizations); Indian Rights Association annual reports; draft legislation; administrative files, the papers of Indian Rights Association founder Herbert Welsh, photographs (often from Western field trips), materials from the Council on Indian Affairs, and manuscripts and research notes regarding social and cultural Indian traditions.
African American Newspapers in the South This link opens in a new window
These newspapers document the African American press in the South from Reconstruction through the Jim Crow era. Written by African Americans for African Americans, this collection provides a unique journalistic record of the African American experience in segregated southern America. Includes complete runs of representative newspapers from the District of Columbia, Georgia, Louisiana, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Tennessee, and West Virginia.
Apartheid Through the Eyes of South African Political Parties, 1948-1994 This link opens in a new window
Apartheid was a system of white minority rule that prevailed in South Africa for much of the 20th century. This collection contains various materials published by political parties on both sides of the racial and ideological divide. The bulk of the documents are drawn from the archives of the main opposition movement, the African National Congress (ANC). The main party of government, the National Party, is also well represented, as are several minor parties and independent candidates. - Publisher
Power to the People: Counterculture, Social Movements, and the Alternative Press This link opens in a new window
Power to the People: Counterculture, Social Movements, and the Alternative Press showcases a range of ideas, initiatives, and social movements devoted to people-powered politics and organizing from the nineteenth through twenty-first centuries. Ranging beyond a few specific movements, the archive paints a broad picture of the counterculture and many disparate organizations that represent this moment in modern Western history. Although the archive concentrates mainly on the United States and the United Kingdom, it also covers events and topics from around the globe. – Publisher
ProQuest History Vault: Americans for Democratic Action Records, 1932- This link opens in a new window
The Americans for Democratic Action Records trace the evolution of the organization as it supported civil rights, the united international control of atomic energy, and global democracy. The collection contains records of campaigns on vital issues such as equal rights, disarmament, the Vietnam War, inflation, and unemployment. – Publisher

Research Workshops

Workshops offered each quarter provide a guided introduction to research tools, methods, and strategies. You'll find descriptions, dates/times, and registration links at the NU Libraries Events Calendar. Topics include:

Cite Smarter - collect, organize, and integrate citations into your writing using Zotero, EndNote, or Mendeley.
Text Mining with Library Resources
Introduction to Text Analysis with HathiTrust Research Center
Using Microsoft CoPilot with Library Databases
Research is Non-Linear
Your Dissertation and Copyright: What You Need to Know
Can I Use This? Copyright and Fair Use in Practice
Building a Digital Exhibit Online with Canopy
Systematic, Scoping, and Literature Reviews: What Type of Review is Right for You?
Literature Review Basics - sessions for graduate and undergraduate students are offered
Systematic Reviews: An Introduction to the Process
Googling for Data: Strategies & Resources
Keep Current with Scholarly Literature

Libraries | Research Guides

Gender & Sexuality Studies

New Subscriptions and Open Access Publishing Support

Digitized Primary Source Collections

Research Workshops