Research and documents are organized into six categories: Presidential Elections; Congressional Elections; Gubenatorial Elections; Campaigns and Elections; Political Parties; and Voter and Demographics. For more information about this resource, connect to the CQ Voting and Elections Collection, and then click the "About" link near the upper right side of the screen.

Legislative news, political analysis and current events. Each issue of CQ Weekly contains an unbiased, objective and comprehensive roundup of virtually all Capitol Hill activity from the previous week. Focusing primarily on legislative news and analysis, CQ Weekly includes congressional floor votes and is searchable by a variety of criteria, including keywords, bill number and committee name. Corresponds to the printed version previously titled 'Congressional Quarterly Weekly Report'.

Comprehensive resource on politics and policy for the academic community including: National journal, Almanac of American Politics, The Hotline, National Journal Daily, National Journal Daybook. This resource offers breaking news, instant analysis and vital context, and delivers big picture perspective on the impact of new developments on the future of legislation, public policy, and political outcomes.

Congressional publications on key American public policy issues including foreign affairs, crime, national security, science and technology, transportation, the economy, labor, commerce, public health, the environment, and education. Includes the full text of proposed legislation and its status in the legislative process and the full text of recently signed law. Provides information about current members of Congress and Congressional committees.

Northwestern has access to 2000-2018. The CQ Politics in America Series offers comprehensive, nonpartisan commentary and data about members of Congress. Detailed member profiles provide concise insight and candid analysis of personalities, political styles, legislative agendas, political ambitions, and reputations at home and on the Hill. Member profiles include biographical data, committee assignments, election results, key votes, interest group ratings, and detailed descriptions of each member's congressional district.

Northwestern has access to 1972-2022. The online equivalent of the entire run of the print serial Historic Documents, issued since 1972. Each annual volume contains approximately 100 documents covering the most significant events of the year, including presidential speeches, international agreements, Supreme Court decisions, U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions. Documents are preceded by introductory material and may be searched by full-text keyword, title, and topic.

Offers original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session. Arranged thematically, CQ Almanac organizes, distills, and cross-indexes for permanent reference the full year in Congress and in national politics.

The Library has access from volume 1 (1945/1964) through volume 15, 2017-2020, Volume XV: Politics and Policy in the 115th and 116th Congresses. This series from CQ Press offers comprehensive and signature coverage of Congressional action back to 1945.

The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.

Northwestern has access to 1989/1990 until 2016/2017 and 2018/2020 to the present. Provides year-end overviews of Supreme Court terms, including case summaries, essays on significant cases, tables and figures on voting patterns, trends in constitutional law, biographies of justices, and more.

Liberal democracies of North America, Europe, and Australasia throughout the twentieth century have experienced a variety of forms of extremism and radicalism that have shaped mainstream political thinking as well as cultural norms. To comprehend modern governmental and societal systems researchers must understand the environment that created them, their origins, and their adversaries. In the Political Extremism and Radicalism series Gale provides insight on unorthodox (by contemporary standards), fringe groups from both the right and left of the political spectrum through rare, hard to access primary sources. Content supports scholars and students answering questions on philosophical, social, political, and economic ideologies as well as on contemporary issues surrounding gender, sexuality, race, religion, civil rights, universal suffrage, and much more.

Part 1: Far-Right and Left Political Groups in the U.S., Europe, and Australia in the Twentieth Century
Part 2: Far-Right Groups in America
Part 3: Global Communist and Socialist Movements

Research and documents are organized into six categories: Presidential Elections; Congressional Elections; Gubenatorial Elections; Campaigns and Elections; Political Parties; and Voter and Demographics. For more information about this resource, connect to the CQ Voting and Elections Collection, and then click the "About" link near the upper right side of the screen.

This site provides polling results and data from various U.S. campaigns.

Northwestern has access to 2005/2006; 2007/2008; 2009/2010; 2015/2016, 2017/2020. Vital Statistics on American Politics offers more than 230 tables and charts covering the full spectrum of American politics dating back to 1788.

From Dave Leip's Atlas. Datasets of election returns at the county level for all states in the U.S., in Excel format from Atlas of U.S. Elections.

Log in using Northwestern netid and password.

Northwestern University Libraries have access to 2006, 2010, 2014, 2019 and 2022.