Reference Sources
The Encyclopedia of Political Thought by ISBN: 9781405191296Publication Date: 2014-10-06Coverage of significant political thinkers, political theories, concepts, ideas, and schools of thought. Comprises over 900 A-Z entries, including brief definitions, biographies, and major topics.
Encyclopedia of Political Theory by ISBN: 9781452265759Publication Date: 2010-03-18This work serves as a reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary political theory. It examines the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses.
The Cambridge History of Twentieth-Century Political Thought by ISBN: 0521563542Publication Date: 2003-08-14Search NUsearch also for Cambridge History of Nineteenth Century Poltical Thought; Cambridge History of Political Thought, 1450-1700- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyCall Number: Free, Open Access resource. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Browse entries at https://plato.stanford.edu/contents.html
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy byOnline version of the 10-volume Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy. Can be browsed by philosophical themes, philosophies, historical periods, and religions. Full text entries can be searched by keyword, title, contributor, or bibliography.
Key Databases for Political Theory
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations with abstracts from more than 1,100 journals in political science and related disciplines. Coverage is international in scope, combining the former Political Science Abstracts and ABC POL SCI databases.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowThe Philosopher's Index provides access to articles in the field of philosophy published in journals and books since 1940. For many years the standard index to the philosophical literature.
Additional Databases for Political Theory
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowIndex focusing on public affairs, public and social policies and international relations. Provides references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and more. Covers 1914 to present.
- L'Année philologique This link opens in a new windowThe primary database of record for identifying scholarly work on ancient Greece and Rome, from 1924 to the present.
- Pascal & Francis Bibliographic Databases This link opens in a new windowFRANCIS indexes an international range of scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, dissertations, exhibition catalogs, legislation, teaching materials, and reports, across the humanities and social sciences. Produced by the Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, the database is strongest for French-language sources. Covers 1972-present.
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new windowAlternative Press Index is a biannual subject index to over 300 alternative, left, and radical journals, newspapers, and magazines. The index is international and interdisciplinary, spanning the social sciences and humanities, with its central focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism.
- Index to Legal Periodicals & Books This link opens in a new windowInternational coverage and access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews, and more.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowNot all content is available full text to Northwestern community.
Searchable database that provides access to the content of journals and ebooks published from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.
The Premium Collection is MUSE's foremost collection of over 700 high quality, peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from leading university presses, not-for-profit publishers and prestigious scholarly societies.