Political Science Librarian
Jeannette Moss
Contact:
University Library
2 North (Core) Rm. 2303
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
2 North (Core) Rm. 2303
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
847-491-2169
Background and Overviews
- Oxford Bibliographies: International Relations This link opens in a new windowOffers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the study of foreign affairs and political interaction between states. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics and International RelationsOxford: Oxford University Press, Incorporated; 2018; Fourth edition. "This dictionary is renowned for its authoritative and clear explanations of political terms, as well as its impressive coverage of international relations, heavily expanded for this edition. It remains an essential A-Z guide to political terminology and theory."
- Handbook of International RelationsLondon ; Thousand Oaks, CA : SAGE Publications; 2013; Second edition.
- The Oxford Companion to International RelationsNew York : Oxford University Press; 2014
- The SAGE Handbook of DiplomacyLos Angeles : SAGE; [2016]. "The SAGE Handbook of Diplomacy provides a major thematic overview of Diplomacy and its study that istheoretically andhistorically informed and in sync with the current and future needs of diplomatic practice. Original contributions from a brilliant team of global experts are organised into four thematic sections: * Section One: Diplomatic Concepts & Theories * Section Two: Diplomatic Institutions * Section Three: Diplomatic Relations * Section Four: Types of Diplomatic Engagement"
- Political Handbook of the World 2020-2021Washington DC: CQ Press; 2021
- International Affairs Resources on the InternetAn excellent gateway to freely available internet sites on all topics of international significance including area studies, human rights, international organizations, maps, economics, peace and conflict resolution, & much more. Maintained by the WWW Virtual Library.
International Relations Article Databases
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations with abstracts from more than 1,100 journals in political science and related disciplines. Coverage is international in scope, combining the former Political Science Abstracts and ABC POL SCI databases.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowIndex focusing on public affairs, public and social policies and international relations. Provides references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and more. Covers 1914 to present.
- Policy Commons This link opens in a new windowPolicy Commons is a one-stop community platform for objective, fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs and NGOs. We treat think-tank publishing as a formal body of literature in its own right, with tools to systematically search it, cite it, understand its impact, catalog it, and preserve it for the long term. - Publisher
- Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new windowCitations, abstracts and full text of articles from magazines and scholarly journals about the military and government. Full text from 300 publications with indexing and abstracts for articles from 400 additional titles.
- JSTOR Security Studies Collection This link opens in a new windowJSTOR Security Studies is a collection of academic and policy literature on international and national security problems and foreign policy issues from a global perspective. The collection spans a range of disciplines and covers topics such as cybersecurity, foreign policy, human security, international law, military studies, peace & conflict studies, and terrorism & political violence. When completed, Security Studies will include 75 scholarly, trade, and military journals, in addition to 10 Open Access journals, and up to 20,000 open reports from more than 100 institutes.