Country Reports
U.S. State Dept. Country Reports
- Country Reports on Human Rights PracticesU.S. Dept of State annual reports to Congress on the status of internationally recognized human rights practices per country. Online archive from 1999-present.
- Country Reports on Religious FreedomDescribes the status of religious freedom in each foreign country, government policies violating religious belief and practices of groups, religious denominations, and individuals, and U.S. policies to promote religious freedom around the world.
- Country Reports on TerrorismReports on where terrorist acts have occurred, state sponsorship of terrorism and assessments of terrorist groups.
- Trafficking of Persons - Country ReportsAnnual publication by the U.S. Dept of State.
---
- World FactbookCountry profiles including information on geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues.
- EMIS Intelligence This link opens in a new windowBusiness news and intelligence, and company, industry, financial, economic and political information from emerging market countries in Latin America, Asia and Europe. Includes corporate profiles, financial statements, industry and analyst reports, capital market quotes and indices, macroeconomic statistics and forecasts, legal and regulatory information, and opinion polls.
Statistical Resources
Hover over links for more information
- UNHCR: The UN Refugee Agency Statistics & Operational DataThis section provides data, reports, maps and other information essential for field operations. It also carries statistical reports on the people of concern to UNHCR: refugees, asylum-seekers, returned refugees, the internally displaced and stateless people. Detailed information on country of asylum, place of origin, gender, age, location and legal status of refugees is available. Indicators on the quality of refugee protection and UNHCR operations are increasingly being collected.
- International Resources by ThemeNU Library guide of statistical resources broken down by theme.
- International Resources by Theme: Migration and RefugeesNU Library guide of statistical resources in the area of migration and refugees.
- International Resources by RegionNU Library guide of statistical resources broken down by region.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowWith some exceptions, access limited to content published between 2001 and August 2020.
OECD iLibrary contains publications and datasets released by the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA), and International Transport Forum (ITF). Includes journal articles, chapters, working papers, multi-lingual summaries, e-book titles, and tables and graphs.
- OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the WebThe OFFSTATS database provides access to free statistics from official sources on the web.
- First: Facts on International Relations and Security TrendsThe FIRST system offers researchers, politicians and the media an authoritative and structured factual reference system on international relations and security trends. It contains high-quality, up-to-date and clearly documented information in areas such as: conflicts, arms transfers and military expenditures, hard facts on states and international organizations, economic and social statistics, and chronologies.
Political Science Librarian
Jeannette Moss
Contact:
University Library
2 North (Core) Rm. 2303
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
2 North (Core) Rm. 2303
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
847-491-2169