Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Centre for Refugee Studies-York University
The Centre for Refugee Studies is engaged in research on refugee issues; it informs public discussion as well as policy development and practice innovation by international, governmental, advocacy and service organizations; and it supports teaching in refugee and migration studies.
European Council on Refugees & Exiles (ECRE)
The European Council on Refugees & Exiles (ECRE) is now a pan-European Alliance of refugee-assisting non-governmental organisations. ECRE is concerned with the needs of all individuals who seek refuge and protection within Europe.
Fahamu Refugee Programme
The Fahamu Refugee Programme promotes the legal protection of refugees, globally by centralizing resources for legal assistance providers and refugees themselves.
Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre (iDMC)
Through its work, the Centre contributes to improving national and international capacities to protect and assist the millions of people around the globe who have been displaced within their own country as a result of conflicts or human rights violations.
International Organization for Migration (IOM)
Offers reports, publications, research results, maps, etc. on human trafficking, resettlement, labor migration and related subjects.
Refugee Research Network
The RRN seeks to generate and mobilize knowledge among scholars, practitioners and policy makers to benefit people who have been forcibly displaced. Our goal is to build a network of networks which will promote connections throughout the field of refugee and forced migration studies by: facilitating interactions among the academic, practitioner and policy-making sectors; engaging new and established scholars from around the world in innovative online activities; and, creating spaces for the presentation and dissemination of the experiences and concerns of refugees themselves. This intensive animation of the field is intended to cultivate a multiplicity of new research groupings resulting in more dynamic and responsive research projects.
Refugee Studies Centre (RSC) : Oxford
The Refugee Studies Centre was founded in 1982 as part of the Oxford Department of International Development (Queen Elizabeth House) at the University of Oxford. Its purpose is to build knowledge and understanding of the causes and effects of forced migration in order to help improve the lives of some of the world’s most vulnerable people.
U.S. Committee for Refugees and Immigrants (USCRI)
Since 1911, the U.S. Committee for Refugees and Immigrants (USCRI) has been serving uprooted people, regardless of their nationality, race, ideology, or social group. We continue to provide tools and opportunities for self-sufficiency to refugees and immigrants nationwide, fight refugee warehousing around the world, serve victims of human trafficking, and protect the rights of unaccompanied immigrant children.
UN Refugee Agency (UNHCR)
The Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees was established on December 14, 1950 by the United Nations General Assembly. The agency is mandated to lead and co-ordinate international action to protect refugees and resolve refugee problems worldwide. Its primary purpose is to safeguard the rights and well-being of refugees.
Refugee Processing Center - Admissions and Arrivals
is operated by the U.S Department of State (DOS) Bureau of Population, Refugees, and Migration (PRM)
International Committee of the Red Cross
Operates worldwide, helping people affected by conflict and armed violence and promoting the laws that protect victims of war. An independent and neutral organization, its mandate stems essentially from the Geneva Conventions of 1949.
Directories and Databases of Organizations
A browseable list of organizations related to forced migration. By the Canadian Association for Refugee and Forced Migration Studies (CARFMS).
Duke University NGO Database
A searchable and browseable database of Non-governmental organization websites. Users can browse by theme, region, or type.
Fahamu Refugee Programme: Refugee Resources
A list of non-government organisations (NGOs) or not-for-profit organisations (and, in rare cases, individual lawyers) who offer pro bono legal aid and/or other services related to the needs of refugees. Some countries have no legal aid for refugees but do have NGOs that provide other services that can be valuable for refugees and might lead to legal aid. Arranged by country.
Forced Migration Online: Directory of Organizations
The FMO Organizations Directory is a searchable database containing details of key organizations working on issues that relate to refugees and forced migration.
List of IGOs (NU Libraries)
NU Library guide to Intergovernmental Organizations.
Political Science Librarian