Alternative Metrics attempt to assess the impact of work not only via citations but through blogs, reference management systems, academic and social networks, and other platforms.

Provides instructions and over 15 tools for citation analyses.

Multiple tools for the comparison of databases.

Includes tools to measure cost effectiveness, journal rankings and evaluations, and usage statistics.

Overall Library Investment Index rankings from 2003 forward.

Compares ARL libraries at top private universities on several measures (see all tabs).

ARL statistics.

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education, including libraries. Broader in scope than ARL data.

A method for comparing your collection to that of a peer library.

A how-to guide on the use of the WorldCat database for comparative analysis.

Explains how, with access to Gobi, you can analyze consortia buying patterns, create lists of titles that have been acquired and title lists of books that were not acquired by the consortium, and, in general, extract data that may be of use in cooperative collection building or in creating selection parameters.

Explains how, with access to Gobi, one can use the Peer Groups function for collection analysis.

"...each fall YBP publishes a report on price and output for new books published during our prior fiscal year. The data encompasses all new titles treated on the Approval Plan programs of YBP and YBP UK."

The data are broken-down by library type (ARL, privates, etc.).

Each year, EBSCO projects "...publisher price increases for the upcoming year. We use recent information received from both large and small publishers as well as historical price data to calculate these projections."

Every April, Library Journal provides both data and current information about concerns in the journals marketplace that might have an impact on prices in the coming year.

Chronicle of Higher Education website.

Facts and figures on the history, students population, faculty and more.

From the Office of Institutional Research. Contains tables on external rankings, enrollment, degrees, financing, staffing, faculty, and more.

Rankings of graduate and professional programs at NU. Provided by the NU's Office of Institutional Research.

World and regional rankings of universities.

Whether you intend to access WorldCat or local records, these FirstSearch options are useful tools for identifying relevant subject headings and constructing searches for analysis of interdisciplinary collections.

Two simple methods for interdisciplinary analysis.

Why and how to match library resources to academic departments and programs.

Publications & Perceptions and Support to Academic Departments.

This is only one example of a collection assessment model. It does not, e.g., include qualitative measures or narrative. It is meant as something to help the collection analyst get started.

General guidelines on using collection analysis for collection development.

Although there is no one database that represents every publication in the world, there are nonetheless many that contain large quantities of titles. Amazon, Alibris and the web sites of other booksellers are such databases, and access to them is free.

Compares platforms in details within the categories of access control, search functionality, indexing, exporting, usage statistics, and much more.

Can be used to compare the quality and strength of your collection. Free. What % does the library have? "...designed to help academic libraries in the ongoing development of their collections, specifically as an aid in identifying the best British titles of the previous quarter or year."

Can be used to compare the quality and strength of your collection. Free. What % does the library have? "...designed and implemented this service to aid academic libraries in assessing current collections and to allow smaller academic libraries the opportunity to benefit from participation with a seasoned vendor in collection development."

These data are restricted to NU Library staff. Contains a selected list of assessment of various collections.

These data are restricted to NU Library staff. Contains a selected list of collections budget analyses and fund analyses.

These data are restricted to NU Library staff.

NUL's reporting to ARL on the Library's number of volumes, expenditures, number of serials, etc., from 2003 to most recently available.

How to obtain circulation statistics on a title through Voyager.

Collection policies on subject and topical areas.

Library collections are listed with corresponding academic constituent data (faculty, graduate and professional students, undergraduate degrees).

One full year of course enrollment data matched to corresponding library collections.

Guide to fund management: the ledger, fund types, acquisitions reports, fund management considerations, self-generated reports, and more.

Tools and tips very specific to NUL analyses.

FY11-FY12 requests for articles in journal issues not available to the NU community and requests for Document Delivery of items available to the community.

Analyses of books received through ILL in FY11-FY12 (see other criteria on "Tips" page).

Basic statistics on library holdings, services, etc.

These data are restricted to NU Library staff.

Describes why/how to create a library-wide data inventory and survey of data-related staff skills. Based on a reproducible NU project.

A MyRI Tutorial. Three modules: "introductory overview; journal ranking; bibliometrics to support your career and research strategy."