This is the "About Collection Analysis" page of the "Collection Assessment: About Collection Analysis " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Collection Assessment: About Collection Analysis   Tags: assessment, collection analysis, collection assessment, library assessment, library data, library metrics, nul staff  

Things to consider, uses, help, etc.
Last Updated: Dec 26, 2013 URL: http://libguides.northwestern.edu/AboutCollectionAssessment Print Guide RSS Updates
About Collection Analysis Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

IN THIS GUIDE:

This guide is meant for faculty, administrators and librarians affiliated and not affiliated with NU. Instructions and explanations of methods and analysis, tools for executing studies, and pre-packaged data are in this guide.

  • How-to conduct collections assessment including:
    • comparisons with peers and aspirational peers
    • interdisciplinary analysis
    • qualitative methods
    • how to interpret library data
  • The actual tools for conducting assessments.
  • Metrics related to libraries.
  • Explanations of citation analysis, bibliometrics, collection building, and more.
  • Data related to NU and NU libraries.
 

ERaCA

The department of Electronic Resources and Collection Analysis (ERaCA)...

  • Conducts assessments and provides data for all matters related to collections.
  • Develops metrics to facilitate evidence-based decision-making.
  • Provides internal as well as institutional and national data and statistics.
  • Offers training modules and tools for conducting assessments.

 

Getting Started

What Is the Purpose of this Assessment and What Do You Hope to Learn from it?     When plotting a strategy for collection assessment, these two questions are most essential. Your answers to these questions will help to determine both the universe and type of analysis.

What Must Be Analyzed?     Below are a few examples (not a comprehensive list) of types of collection evaluations. As you read these examples, think about what type of analysis might answer to the purpose of the assessment.

  • evaluation of core works
  • collection strength
  • peer comparative analysis of monographs
  • collections budget analysis
  • gap analysis
  • collection growth
  • evaluation of journal collections
  • assessment of all e-resources
  • collection currency and age
  • usage of e-resources
  • analysis of approval plans
  • estimation of costs of new collections

How Can it Be Done?     (a) As you can see from the NUL Data & Methods Bank, there are a large number of instruments from which to choose—from previously manipulated local data to approval plan universes of publications to commercial analysis tools. The choice of the tool and of the methodology will be determined by your answers to the questions above. Or, (b) you can make an appointment... Please contact Lucy E. Lyons, Coordinator for Collection Analysis.

 

Examples of Uses

Quantitative and Qualitative Data can be Used to...

  • demonstrate the adequacy or inadequacy of support resources, as required by an accreditation review or grant proposal
  • estimate the cost of resources for a new degree program or new faculty hire
  • compare NU collections to the collections of libraries at institutions considered to be peers
  • assess the quality of the Library's monographs in a given discipline
  • identify "core" resources in fields of study
  • analyze access to available online resources in a given subject
  • ... and much more
Northwestern University

Mobile Site  |  Library Home  |  Northwestern Calendar: PlanIt Purple  |  Northwestern Search

Northwestern University Library  1970 Campus Drive  Evanston, IL 60208-2300  Evanston: 847.491.7658  Fax: 847.491.8306  library@northwestern.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip