Research Guides: *Journalism: Getting Started

Key Resources

Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Combining the content of Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts, this comprehensive resource offers content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields. Coverage goes back to 1915.

Pew Research Center - Journalism & Media
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.

Verification handbook : an ultimate guideline on digital age sourcing for emergency coverage by Craig Silverman
Call Number: PN4775 .V47 2014 VIEW MAP
ISBN: 978131202313
Publication Date: 2014

Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
The world's most extensive and complete archive of television news: Recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. CNN and NBC clips are available via video streaming.

NUsearch This link opens in a new window
NUsearch is the main search tool for Northwestern University Library, combining the library catalog with a wealth of other databases and online collections.

Historical News Sources
by Geoff Morse Last Updated Feb 28, 2024 251 views this year
Leisure Materials: Newspapers, magazines and more
by Lauren McKeen McDonald Last Updated Apr 10, 2024 1803 views this year
News Sources
by Natalie Pelster Last Updated Jul 23, 2024 2334 views this year
Quick Access to Major Newspapers
by Natalie Pelster Last Updated Jul 18, 2024 6060 views this year
Readex Guide
by Geoff Morse Last Updated May 9, 2024 160 views this year

Reference Online and In Print
by Geoff Morse Last Updated Jul 12, 2024 1192 views this year

Links to NU Libraries' newspaper subscriptions.

Chicago Tribune (full text coverage from Dec. 4, 1996 to present through ProQuest)

New York Times (Primary Link)

Other information:

INITIAL REGISTRATION, (http://accessnyt.com)
Requires initial registration with Northwestern email address (enter and select "Northwestern University - Evanston, Illinois"). Follow directions for registration while on or off campus.
Subsequent access requires login at nytimes.com site with that email and password using any device.
Existing paid New York Times subscribers must cancel their paid subscription before authenticating via Northwestern Library's subscription (if a Northwestern email address was used for the personal subscription).

New York Times (full text coverage from 1851 to present through ProQuest)

Wall Street Journal (full text historical and current coverage from 1889 to present through ProQuest and the Wall Street Journal)

Washington Post (full text coverage from 1877 to present through ProQuest and others)