Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Rhetoric - Online Speech Bank
Index of 5000+ full text, audio and video (streaming) versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events..." (Note the arrangement is alphabetical by first name.) Speeches by numerous American public figures.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Search the Vanderbilt Television News Archive of network television news programs and other news-related programming recorded since August 5, 1968. Streaming video of NBC and CNN content is available. The Archive makes all the items in its collection available to the public through a loan service. See a librarian for more information.
Vital Speeches of the Day
A comprehensive resource with speeches dating back to 1934 (including speeches by Churchill, Hitler, Mussolini) to the present day (including Blair and Benedict XVI). Also contains speeches by academics and others on important topics.
"The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses"
American Presidency Project
Online resource that has consolidated, coded, and organized into a single searchable database:
• The Messages and Papers of the Presidents: Washington - Taft (1789-1913)
• The Public Papers of the Presidents:Hoover to Obama (1929-2009)
• The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents: Carter - G.W. Bush (1977-2009)
• The Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents: Obama (2009-2012)
History and Politics Out Loud
Searchable archive of audio and transcripts relevant to American history and politics.
Yale UN Oral History Project
This resource contains over 150 transcribed interviews with key players, from numerous countries, involved in major international events in which the UN has played a role.