Located in the School of Law "...focuses on researching and addressing emerging human rights norms and related issues as well as providing valuable clinical experiences for students committed to protecting human rights on a global scale."

Gateway to this topic. University of Minnesota.

A rich, reputable, unique site that offers information that is otherwise hard to find. International standards of human rights are the starting point in investigations of companies in over 180 countries. In short, the aim is to measure discrimination, poverty, access to medicines, safety, security, trade and more in business practices. It is a well-organized site, but you will be greatly helped by beginning with Getting Started and How to Use The Site. See, too, the library & special portals.

Bibliographic citations and abstracts to literature on the maltreatment of children.

Dedicated to changing how societies and governments view children and to making the enforcement of current human rights more systematically inclusive of children. The UN Convention of the Rights of the Child (CRC)—signed by all countries except Somalia and the U.S.—enumerates these rights. Under Publications, in the drop-down menu of Resources, find an option to search numerous types of documents including journal articles, bibliographies, books, reports. Most full-text; complete citations.

Database is "intended to fill a void in current information about the laws and practices relating to the application of the death penalty around the world." What makes this one different is its scholarly approach. "...to provide detailed and transparent information regarding the application of the death penalty in law and in practice in every country that retains it." (Center for Int'l Human Rights, NU Law).

Regarding "human rights and environmental abuses in countries where few other organizations can safely operate. We expose and publicize earth rights abuses through campaigns, reports and articles..." and organize and litigate.

Organizes "campaigns against natural resource-related conflict and corruption and associated environmental and human rights abuses." Specializes within the areas of oil, gas, mining, banks, diamonds, minerals and forests. Updated news and reports, opinion, blogs, video, and various types of articles can be examined through an Advanced Search tool that also allows searching by keyword, country, and issues.

World Health Organization (WHO): "the enjoyment of the highest attainable standard of health is one of the fundamental rights of every human being..."
See Information Resources and Database.

"Development and distribution of educational materials on health and human rights, presented clearly and simply so that people at all educational levels can understand them. "

UN specialized agency "which seeks the promotion of social justice and internationally recognized human and labour rights." Because the ILO provides conventions on internationally recognized labor standards, it is often mentioned in the documents and reports of human rights groups. See, esp., Topics, Publications, and Statistics and Databases.

Listserv of session of the International Studies Association.

Works to assist minority and indigenous groups to establish or maintain rights to their lands, cultures, languages, and religions and to gain opportunities in education, government, and employment. Website contains good foundational information, including definitions and legal statuses. Under Publications find online access to reports, micro and macro studies, guides, briefings, training manuals, and the annual State of the World's Minorities. Print editions for sale.

American Association for the Advancement of Science: Under SHR Coalition, click on Resources to find Organizations Defending the Human Rights of Scientists, Science and Human Rights: A Select Annotated Bibliography, and (coming soon) the Bibliographic Database on Science and Human Rights. It is also worthwhile to see Publications and the SHR Newsletter, both listed under (another) Resources link from the home page.

"...fully searchable and indexed pages providing the public with access to thousands of documents highlighting the abuse and torture of detainees in facilities such as Guantanamo Bay and Abu Ghraib Prison. The Torture Archive provides a detailed account of the authorization of torture as a component of U.S. policy during the administration of President George W. Bush."

Annual publication by the U.S. Dept of State.