Located in the School of Law "...focuses on researching and addressing emerging human rights norms and related issues as well as providing valuable clinical experiences for students committed to protecting human rights on a global scale."
Click on "Library." Publications including reports, news releases and urgent actions, 1996 to the present. Search by country, region, theme, etc. Documents are available in English, French, Spanish and Arabic.
Columbia University. "...official designated repository for the archives of major Human Rights organizations such as Amnesty International USA, the Committee of Concerned Scientists, Human Rights First, and Human Rights Watch." Also has much more.
Citations and full-text access to global information about women in over 150 countries from journals, newsletters and research reports. Subjects include development, education, family life, gender equity, human rights, and others.
Includes current, comparative and historical political data (e.g., press freedom) "including charts displaying the status and ratings of countries and territories from 1972 to the present, as well as aggregate and subcategory scores, and information on electoral democracies."
The Gender Studies Database (GSD) combines Women's Studies International, Men's Studies and Sexual Diversity Studies databases with relevant contributions from the Child Development & Adolescent Studies as well as Family & Society Studies Worldwide databases. GSD covers the spectrum of gender engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
"...primary source documents... on the issues of human and civil rights in the last three centuries. International in scope, this volume contains approximately 200 documents, such as speeches, magazine and newspaper articles, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, essays..."
Primary & secondary resources sorted by region. "... materials ranging from the proceedings of the post-World War II war crimes trials at Nuremberg and Tokyo to the files of the Khmer Rouge Santebal police recovered from the notorious Tuol Sleng Prison in Cambodia. Document types include treaties, speeches, government and NGO publications, reports, addresses from congresses and conventions, newspapers, transcripts, case files, personal diaries..."
University of Texas. "...committed to the long-term preservation of fragile and vulnerable records of human rights struggles worldwide, the promotion and secure usage of human rights archival materials, and the advancement of human rights research and advocacy around the world."
Investigates and exposes human rights violations. Like Amnesty International, HRW is truly one of the leading rights organizations. And like Amnesty, the high quality of its work is reflected in its endorsement and use by governments, the media, activists, scholars and others. Its independence has lent credence to its objectivity.
Good gateway which provides academic articles, journal articles, reports, news, fact sheets, & more from hundreds of human rights related think-tanks, centers, institutes, organizations, news agencies, etc. Start by choosing human rights from among the twenty-one Topics in the top-left drop-down menu to search sources within that topic. Or, search by region or use the Advanced Search.
This non-governmental organization offers numerous reports online that analyze local conditions in countries at risk. Search by country or thematic issue such as international terrorism, climate change, or energy.
Provides electronic access to back issues of core scholarly journals including almost 30 in Political Science. To browse the list of archives, click here. Articles have been digitized, providing full-image access.
UPR "is a unique process which involves a review of the human rights records of all 192 UN Member States once every four years. The UPR is a State-driven process, under the auspices of the Human Rights Council, which provides the opportunity for each State to declare what actions they have taken to improve the human rights situations in their countries and to fulfil their human rights obligations." Includes U.S. report.
The full text of the UN Declaration. "On December 10, 1948 the General Assembly of the United Nations adopted and proclaimed the Universal Declaration of Human Rights... Following this historic act the Assembly called upon all Member countries to publicize the text of the Declaration and "to cause it to be disseminated, displayed, read and expounded principally in schools and other educational institutions, without distinction based on the political status of countries or territories."
"...uses video to open the eyes of the world to human rights violations" ... "empowers human rights defenders to use video to fight injustice, and to transform personal stories of abuse into powerful tools that can pressure those in power or with power to act."