Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
All Transportation Guides
Welcome to the Transportation Library's Research Guide on general transportation resources.
In addition to this guide, we have twenty-five other LibGuides on transportation in all its modes including bicycles, freight, urban transportation, and more. Access them here:
Make an Appointment
The Transportation Library staff is here to serve the information needs of the Northwestern University community with individual research appointments and user education for classes. Contact us to schedule an appointment.
Literature Searches and Literature Reviews for Transportation
Literature Searches and Literature Reviews for Transportation Research Projects
TRB Electronic Circular E-C194: Literature Searches and Literature Reviews for Transportation Research Projects addresses the necessary steps for producing a high-quality literature review for a transportation research project. The circular explores how to conduct literature searches; where to search for transportation information; how to put it all together as a quality literature review; and what the definitions are for related terms.
Watch free recordings that cover ways to build strategies to search databases, web resources, and more. These videos also feature conducting research and how to review, organize, and present the literature search results.
Additional Information Resources
MTKN - Midwest Transportation Knowledge Network
An organization dedicated to collaboration among the region’s transportation libraries and information centers so managers, engineers, and planners are better able to find and apply the most recent, credible, and validated technical information to their current projects.
National Transportation Library
A gateway to full text articles and reports on all modes of transportation
NTIS-National Technical Information Service
Citations, some including abstracts, to technical reports issued by government agencies and other sources. Full text NTIS reports can be found on NUcat.
Transportation Research Board (TRB) Library
The TRB Library is the primary archive for publications of the Transportation Research Board, Highway Research Board, Strategic Highway Research Program, and the Marine Board. Includes a complete collection of TRB, HRB, SHRP, and Marine Board publications going back to 1923.
Transportation Research in Progress
An index/abstract of transportation research in progress
Transportation Survey: How Does Northwestern Commute?
Information about the commuting habits of students, faculty, and staff
TRB Publication Index
Indexes and abstracts to over 21,000 TRB publications and reports from 1970 to present. Some full text articles available
COVID-19 and Transportation
Resources from the Transportation Research Board on transportation in the face of communicable disease, developed for COVID-19 response planning and preparation.
Transportation Library Collections
Use the Transportation Library Collection tab to do a global search for all Transportation Library books, journals, EIS', journal articles, digital collections and more.
Produced and maintained by the Transportation Research Board, TRID is the world's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic resource on transportation research information, covering all modes of transportation.
The world's most comprehensive catalog of library holdings, particularly (though not exclusively) from North American libraries, containing over 2,000,000,000 records from over 10,000 libraries.
Introduction to Transportation and Transport Studies
The Transportation Library supports the students and faculty of the Transportation Center and the Center for Public Safety. Containing more than 500,000 items, we are one of the largest transportation information centers in the world, encompassing information on all modes of transportation including air, rail, highway, pipeline, water, urban transport, and logistics.
Reference staff are available Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Northwestern University Transportation Center (NUTC) is a leading interdisciplinary education and research institution serving industry, government, and the public with substantive and enduring contributions to the movement of materials, people, energy, and information.