Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
BTS data collections include traffic, passenger flow, employment, financial condition, and on-time performance of commercial aviation; the Commodity Flow Survey; transborder movement of freight by mode of transportation; a census of ferry operations, precursor safety data for transit operations, and data on near misses and equipment failures in offshore operations.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Provides statistics on transportation related deaths and injuries
The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government
Mathematics and Statistics
NU LibGuide with links to numerous statistics resources.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
ProQuest Statistical Insight provides fast and easy access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. PQSI brings together a massive collection of statistical data in a single easy-to-use search interface, with additional features such as descriptive abstracts, detailed indexing, full-text PDFs of source documents, tables, and downloadable spreadsheets containing table data.
Transportation Energy Data Book by
Call Number: REF HD9540 .O11 2016 and online
Publication Date: 2016
Designed for use as a desk-top reference, the Data Book represents an assembly and display of statistics and information that characterize transportation activity, and presents data on other factors that influence transportation energy use. The purpose of this document is to present relevant statistical data in the form of tables and graphs. The latest edition of the Data Book is available to a larger audience via the Internet (cta.ornl.gov/data).
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
A searchable index of over 100 transportation-related data bases across every mode of transportation — with many social and demographic data sets that are commonly used in transportation analysis.
Transportation Air Quality, Selected Facts and Figures
Provides an overview of facts and figures regarding the linkages between transportation and air quality. The focus of the brochure is primarily on transportation-related emissions trends, policies, technologies, and standards that affect on-road mobile sources, including automobiles, light-duty trucks, and heavy-duty trucks.
Air Traffic Data
The Chicago Department of Aviation (CDA) compiles monthly statistics, including flight operations, passenger totals and cargo tonnage. The data is provided by the airlines and summarized by the CDA. Use the drop downs below to view all air traffic data from O'Hare and Midway International Airports from as far back as the year 2000.
Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning - Travel Tracker Survey Data
A comprehensive travel and activity survey for northeastern Illinois, with data collected between January 2007 and February 2008. Data from 1990 are also available for comparison and analysis.
Chicago Open Data Portal - Transportation
More than 100 datasets published by the City of Chicago. Information includes average daily traffic counts, maps of bike racks, speed camera violations, and many other subjects.
Chicago Transit Authority Open Data
CTA ridership numbers, station information, and other data of interest to researchers, urban planners, journalists and businesses, as well as interested citizens.
CTA Performance Metrics
Reports on performance metrics, designed to measure the Chicago Transit Authority’s success in meeting its goal of providing ontime, clean, safe, efficient and courteous service.
Divvy Bikes System Data
Historical trip data available to the public. Start and end times, stations, rider types (member or 24-Hour Pass user), and age and gender information for Member trips.
Freight Data and Resources
From CMAP, a collection of multimodal freight data and analysis for northeastern Illinois.
IDOT Illinois Technology Transfer Center
GIS data for Illinois, at the state and county levels, for highways, railroads, and structures.
Illinois Airport Inventory Report 2012
Information on the characteristics and the physical condition of the various elements of the public airports in Illinois as well as data on the actual use of both the publicly and privately owned airports in the state.
Illinois Travel Statistics
IDOT annually publishes detailed traffic information based on a statewide traffic count program. Counts from this program range in duration from continuously recorded data at permanent count stations to thousands of 24-hour counts at locations throughout the state.
RTAMS - Regional Transportation Authority Mapping and Statistics
RTAMS is a data warehouse for planning and financial information on the transit system in the northeastern Illinois area surrounding Chicago. RTAMS also allows users to access transit and related data through interactive maps. A great source for demographics, transit access scores, TOD information, and more.
Scooter Data Streams
Open data that delivers real-time locations of scooters available for rent in Chicago
Transportation Survey: How Does Northwestern Commute?
Information about the commuting habits of students, faculty, and staff