Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Philosophy: Reference

Key Encyclopedias and Dictionaries in Philosophy

Guides to the Literature

Aesthetics

  • Barck, Karlheinz, and Martin Fontius. Ästhetische Grundbegriffe (Ägb): Historisches Wörterbuch in sieben Bänden. Stuttgart: Metzler, 2000. MAIN Reference 111.8503 A853.
  • Gaut, Berys and Dominic Lopes. The Routledge Companion to Aesthetics. 3rd. ed.  New York: Routledge, 2014. MAIN 111.85 R869 2013.
  • Guter, Eran. Aesthetics A-Z. Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, 2010.  Also in print at Oak Grove Library Center.
  • Kelly, Michael. Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. 2nd ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2014.
  • Levinson, Jerrold. The Oxford Handbook of Aesthetics. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2003. MAIN 111.85 O98.
  • Morizot, Jacques, and Roger Pouivet. Dictionnaire d'esthétique et de philosophie de l'art. Paris: Armand Colin, 2007. Oak Grove Library Center.
  • Sandywell, Barry. Dictionary of Visual Discourse: A Dialectical Lexicon of Terms. Farnham, Surrey: Ashgate, 2011. Also in print at MAIN Library 111.85 S222d.

Ancient Philosophy

  • Gill, Mary Louise and Pierre Pellegrin. A Companion to Ancient Philosophy. Oxford: Wiley-Blackwell, 2008.
  • Goulet, Richard. Dictionnaire des philosophes antiques. Paris: Editions du Centre national de la recherche scientifique, 1989- .  Main Reference 180.922 D554.  6 volumes plus a supplement issued to date.
  • Shields, Christopher John. The Blackwell Guide to Ancient Philosophy. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub.,  2003. Also in print at Oak Grove Library Center.  Long articles on major aspects classical philosophy.
  • Warren, James and Frisbee Sheffield. Routledge Companion to Ancient Philosophy. New York: Routledge, 2014. MAIN 180 R869.
  • Zeyl, Donald J., Daniel Devereux, and Phillip Mitsis. Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997. Also in print at Oak Grove Library Center.  Briefer, single volume work.

Continental Philosophy

  • Glendinning, Simon. The Edinburgh Encyclopedia of Continental Philosophy. Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, 1999. Also in print at Oak Grove Library Center.
  • Schrift, Alan D. The History of Continental Philosophy.  Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2010.   MAIN 190 H6727. Massive, 8-volume work.
  • Protevi, John. The Edinburgh Dictionary of Continental Philosophy. Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, 2005. MAIN Reference 190.3 E23.

Critical Theory

  • Brooker, Peter. A Glossary of Literary and Cultural Theory. Third ed. Abingdon, Oxon: Routledge, 2017.  MAIN Reference  HM621 .B76 2017  
  • Buchanan, Ian. A Dictionary of Critical Theory. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2018.
  • Edgar, Andrew, and Peter R. Sedgwick. Cultural Theory: The Key Concepts. London: Routledge, 2008. MAIN Reference 306 K44 2002.
  • Payne, Michael, and Jessica Rae Barbera. A Dictionary of Cultural and Critical Theory. 2nd ed. Chichester, West Sussex, U.K.: Wiley-Blackwell, 2010. Also in print at MAIN Reference 306.03 D5537.
  • Ryan, Michael, et al. The Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory. Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011. Also in pirnt at Oak Grove Library Center.

Epistemology

Ethics

  • Allhoff, Fritz., Nicholas G. Evans, and Adam Henschke. Routledge Handbook of Ethics and War: Just War Theory in the Twenty-first Century. Milton Park, Abingdon, Oxon: Routledge, 2013.  Main 172.422 R869  
  • Becker, Lawrence C., and Charlotte B. Becker. Encyclopedia of Ethics. 2nd ed. New York: Routledge, 2001. Also in print at Oak Grove Library Center.
  • Callicott, J. Baird, and Robert Frodeman. Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy. Farmington Hills, MI: Macmillan Reference USA/Gale Cengage Learning, 2009.
  • Chadwick, Ruth F. Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics. 2nd ed. London: Elsevier, 2012.
  • Clarke, Paul A. B., and Andrew Linzey. Dictionary of Ethics, Theology, and Society. London: Routledge, 1996. Styberg Library   Reference BJ63 .D53  
  • Crimmins, James E. The Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Utilitarianism. New York: Bloomsbury, 2013. Main 144.603 B655.
  • Have, H. Ten. Encyclopedia of Global Bioethics. Dordrecht: Springer, 2015.
  • Hooft, Stan van. The Handbook of Virtue Ethics. Durham: Acumen, 2014. MAIN BJ1518 .H36 2014.
  • LaFollette, Hugh.  International Encyclopedia of Ethics. Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishing. 2013.  The major recent work in the field.
  • Jacobs, Jonathan A. Ethics A-Z. Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, 2005. Oak Grove Library Center.
  • Jennings, Bruce. Bioethics. Fourth ed.  Farmington Hills, Mich.: Macmillan Reference USA, a Part of Gale, Cengage Learning, 2014.
  • Holbrook, J. Britt and Carl Mitcham. Ethics, Science, Technology, and Engineering: A Global Resource. Second ed. Farmington Hills, Mich.: Gale, Cengage Learning, 2015.
  • Singer, Peter. A Companion to Ethics. Oxford, UK: Blackwell Reference, 1991. MAIN Core 170 C737 and Oak Grove Library Center.
  • Skorupski, John. The Routledge Companion to Ethics. London: Routledge, 2010. MAIN Library 170 R8.

Logic

Medieval Philosophy

Metaphysics and Ontology

  • Beebee, Helen, Nikk Effingham and Philip Goff. Metaphysics: The Key Concepts.  Abingdon: Routledge, 2011.  MAIN Reference 110 B414m.
  • Burkhardt, Hans, Johanna Seibt, Guido Imaguire, and Stamatios Gerogiorgakis. Handbook of Mereology. München: Philosophia Verlag GmbH, 2017. Main BD396 .H36 2017.
  • Kim, Jaegwon, Ernest Sosa, and Gary S. Rosenkrantz. A Companion to Metaphysics. 2nd ed. Malden, MA ; Oxford: Wiley-Blackwell, 2009.
  • Le Poidevin, Robin. The Routledge Companion to Metaphysics. London: Routledge, 2009.  MAIN Library 110 R869.
  • Schrenk, Markus Andreas. Handbuch Metaphysik. Stuttgart: J.B. Metzler Verlag, Springer Fachmedien Wiesbaden GmbH, 2017. Main BD113 .H36 2017.

Philosophy of Language

  • Chapman, Siobhan, and Christopher Routledge. Key Ideas in Linguistics and the Philosophy of Language. Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, 2009. Also in print at MAIN Library 401 K44
  • Cummings, Louise. The Pragmatics Encyclopedia. Abingdon, [England]: Routledge, 2010. MAIN Reference 306.44 P89808.
  • Devitt, Michael, and Richard Hanley. The Blackwell Guide to the Philosophy of Language. Malden, Mass.: Blackwell Publishing, 2006. Also in print at Oak Grove Library Center.
  • Hale, Bob, and Crispin Wright. A Companion to the Philosophy of Language. Oxford: Blackwell, 1999. Also in print at MAIN Library 401 C737.
  • Lamarque, Peter, and R. E. Asher. Concise Encyclopedia of Philosophy of Language. Kidlington, Oxford: Pergamon, 1997. MAIN Reference 401 C744.
  • Lappin, Shalom., and Chris Fox. The Handbook of Contemporary Semantic Theory. 2nd ed.  Hoboken: Wiley, 2015.
  • LePore, Ernest, and Barry C. Smith. The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Language. Oxford: Clarendon Press 2006. MAIN Reference 401 O98.

Philosophy of Law

  • Gray, Christopher B. The Philosophy of Law: An Encyclopedia. New York: Garland Pub., 1999. MAIN Reference 340.1 P5682.
  • Enzyklopädie zur Rechtsphilosophie.  Internationale Vereinigung für Rechts- und Sozialphilosophie.

Philosophy of Mind

Political Philosophy

  • Bevir, Mark. Encyclopedia of Political Theory. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage Publications, 2010. Also in print at Oak Grove Library Center.
  • Claeys, Gregory, Michael S. Cummings, and Lyman Tower Sargent. Encyclopedia of Modern Political Thought. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: SAGE Publications, 2013. 
  • Clarke, Paul A. B., and Joe Foweraker. Encyclopedia of Democratic Thought. London Routledge, 2001. MAIN Reference 321.803 E561.
  • Gibbons, Michael T. The Encyclopedia of Political Thought. Chichester, West Sussex, UK ; Malden, MA: Wiley Blackwell, 2015.
  • Goodin, Robert E., Philip Pettit, and Thomas Winfried Menko Pogge. A Companion to Contemporary Political Philosophy. 2nd ed. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub., 2007. Also in print at MAIN Library 320.01 C7375 2007.
  • Nay, Olivier, Johann Michel, and Antoine Roger. Dictionnaire de la pensée politique: idées, doctrines et philosophes. Paris: Dalloz, 2005. MAIN Reference 320.03 N331d.
  • Pike, Jonathan E., and Oliver Leaman. Political Philosophy A-Z. Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, 2007.

Social Theory

Reference Librarian and Subject Specialist

Chris Diaz's picture
Chris Diaz
Contact:
University Library
2 - East - Digital Scholarship Services
1970 Campus Drive, Evanston, IL 60208
847-467-6693