Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Philosopher's Index provides access to articles in the field of philosophy published in journals and books since 1940. For many years the standard index to the philosophical literature.
PhilPapers: Philosophical Papers Online
A index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Sources include journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by philosophers. Aims to be comprehensive for philosophical publications back to the beginnings of printing in the 15th century.
Citations to journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, books, audiovisuals, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics. Covers publications in the years 1974-2009; no longer updated.
GenETHX: Genetics and Ethics Database
Indexing to articles, book chapters, and resources on ethical aspects of genetics research.
MLA International Bibliography
Compiled by the Modern Language Association, the MLA International Bibliography lists articles and books in the fields of literature, language, and linguistics in the modern languages, as well as folklore, film studies, and literary theory & criticism. Useful for many aspects of critical and cultural theory.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations with approximately 14,000 new references added every year. Coverage includes the fields of descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Cognitive Linguistics Bibliography
The Cognitive Linguistics Bibliography is a searchable database consisting of 7000 entries covering a wide range of subjects within the broader field of cognitive linguistics.
The primary database of record for identifying scholarly work on ancient Greece and Rome, from 1924 to the present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Citations with abstracts from more than 1,100 journals in political science and related disciplines. Coverage is international in scope, combining the former Political Science Abstracts and ABC POL SCI databases.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities, with the ability to search to determine which articles have cited a particular work.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective offers older (pre-1984) coverage comparable to the more recent Humanities Abstracts and Social Sciences Abstracts. That is, it indexes a range of major journals in the social sciences and humanities, with a few more general journals, going back to 1907.
Periodicals Index Online
Periodicals Index Online is a database of table-of-contents information for thousands of journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, from the 1770s to 2005, in English and other Western European languages. Probably the most inclusive general database of historical article citations anywhere.
This journal archive provides the full text of a number of key scholarly journals, back to the first issue, but often not including the most recent two to five years.
Project MUSE provides the full text of several hundred journals and thousands of eBooks from a variety of academic publishers. Content is current with some historical coverage.
Pascal & Francis Bibliographic Databases
FRANCIS indexes an international range of scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, dissertations, exhibition catalogs, legislation, teaching materials, and reports, across the humanities and social science, from 1972 through 2014. Produced by the Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, the database is strongest for French-language sources. No new additions after 2014.
Reference Librarian and Subject Specialist