Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NUsearch is the main search tool for Northwestern University Library, combining the library catalog with a wealth of other databases and online collections.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
With over, 1,600 entries online, the SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up-to-date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
REP Online is a trusted source of quality information, providing access to over 2,800 articles that have been edited for level and consistency by a team of renowned subject experts.
Oxford Bibliographies: Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Offers annotated bibliographies of the most important books and articles on specific topics in the field of philosophy. Particularly useful for anyone beginning research of one of the topics covered. Articles on individual philosophers are also useful for identifying the standard editions and translations.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
The Philosopher's Index provides access to articles in the field of philosophy published in journals and books since 1940. For many years the standard index to the philosophical literature.
PhilPapers: Philosophical Papers Online This link opens in a new window
A index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Sources include journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by philosophers. Aims to be comprehensive for philosophical publications back to the beginnings of printing in the 15th century.
Digital Publishing and Philosophy Librarian
While I am always available for a scheduled in-person or online consultation, I am also available for walk-in appointments on Thursdays from 11 pm - 12 pm Philosophy Department's Brentano Library in Kresge 3520.