Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19: Access to Materials
The Updates to Library Services page provides regular updates on resources and services. This website includes information on:
- Access to physical books
- Special collections and non-circulating materials
- Reservable study space
- Scanning and book pick-up
- Interlibrary loan
Digital versions of books are usually listed in NUsearch. From the drop-down menu, search using the "Books & Multimedia" tab or the "Books, Images, and More" tab, then check full record for format options.
For information on temporary access to digital books and other materials, some resources are below.
- The ACLS Humanities E-Book Project (HEB) has e-versions of thousands of history and other humanities books. Books that are accessible via HEB are searchable in NUsearch via title and/or author. These titles have a blank book icon on the left of the record and a link that reads ACLS Humanities E-Book. URL: http://www.humanitiesebook.org. Just click on the Online Access link in the NUsearch record.
- For information on the HathiTurst Emergency Access program, see HathiTrust Response to Covid-19 and the Library's Guide to Using HathiTrust. HathiTrust materials that are available via the Temporary Emergency Access are also listed in NUsearch (search by title under the Books, Images and More tab. The catalog record will indicate if full text is available.)
- Some publishers provide free access to materials. See Free Resources Available in Response to Covid-19.
America: History & Life
America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to the present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage but also included are abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
American National Biography
There is no need to sign in at website to access this resource. Begin searching or browsing for articles.
The American National Biography is the premier, authoritative, historical biographical encyclopedia for the United States. Over 18,700 men and women are included, and the resource is updated quarterly with new entries and revisions of previously published entries to enhance their accuracy and currency. Articles are by established scholars. Living individuals are not included.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T offers comprehensive listings for U.S. doctoral dissertations back to 1861, with extensive coverage of dissertations from many non-U.S. institutions. A number of masters theses are also listed. Thousands of dissertations are available full text, and abstracts are included for dissertations from the mid-1980s forward.
HathiTrust Digital Library
A partnership of approximately 140 research institutions with Google, the HathiTrust Digital Library includes all the book images from these libraries that have been digitized by Google. Only out-of-copyright images (generally pre-1923) can be displayed, or others where the permission of the copyright holder has been obtained, though both in-copyright and out-of-copyright materials can be searched. Out-of-copyright books can be downloaded by Northwestern users who register with the site. For more information on searching Hathi, see http://libguides.northwestern.edu/hathi
Digitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
Other Libraries and Catalogs
Click on the "Chicago-area Libraries" tab above, for a more expansive list of local libraries.