This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Classics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Last Updated: Jul 22, 2014 URL: http://libguides.northwestern.edu/classics Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Northwestern University Library's Catalog

Key Resources

  • L'Annee Philologique
    The primary database of record for identifying scholarly work on ancient Greece and Rome, from 1924 to the present.
  • Humanities Abstracts
    This database provides access to articles from the most important scholarly journals across the entire range of the humanities, back to 1984. Useful for those wanting to find a few articles from major journals on their topic. Article abstracts are available from 1994 forward.
  • Oxford Classical Dictionary
    The full text of the fourth edition of this classic work, published in 2012.
  • Brill's New Pauly
    The most complete and most authoritative modern encyclopedia of the classical world. In nearly 20,000 entries it covers two thousand years of history and culture of ancient Greece and Rome, and their reception in the two thousand years that followed. Articles are available in both English and the original German.
  • Perseus Digital Library
    Originally conceived as an open-access collection of materials for the study of ancient Greece and Rome, including texts (in both the original language and English translations), dictionaries and other reference works (mostly older out-of-copyright works), images, and other studies. More recent modules have expanded coverage to Renaissance Latin poetry.

Reference Librarian and Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Bill McHugh
Contact Info
847-491-2175
Send Email
 
Northwestern University

Mobile Site  |  Library Home  |  Northwestern Calendar: PlanIt Purple  |  Northwestern Search

Northwestern University Library  1970 Campus Drive  Evanston, IL 60208-2300  Evanston: 847.491.7658  Fax: 847.491.8306  library@northwestern.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip