The most complete and most authoritative modern encyclopedia of the classical world. In nearly 20,000 entries it covers two thousand years of history and culture of ancient Greece and Rome, and their reception in the two thousand years that followed. Articles are available in both English and the original German.
Oxford Classical Dictionary hosts a continuously growing collection of over 6,500 entries, new and revised entries published online on a monthly basis, broader chronological, geographical, and cultural reach than the fourth edition, featuring new articles on gender studies, Late Antiquity, Christianity, Jewish studies, Near East, Bronze Age, linguistics, and reception. OCD has updated and, often, rewritten OCD4 entries, incorporating new available data, perspectives, and bibliographical resources, a truly living resource that evolves as the disciple evolves; articles offer the ability to see prior versions providing a real-time window into an ever-evolving discipline . OCD has all new and revised articles are peer-reviewed and feature a wide array of multimedia resources, including images, maps, audiovisual clips, links to primary texts, cross-references, and other digital tools. OCD reflects a broader and more inclusive coverage of the ancient world than the fourth edition thanks to a diverse and international board of editors and contributors. - Publisher
Oxford University Press's texts of Classical authors are online for the first time. Discover authoritative critical editions, including the Oxford Classical Texts series, commentaries, and translations of all the major works.
The Classics wing of OSEO contains texts and translations of all the major Latin authors — from Horace, Ovid, Virgil, and Homer to Pliny The Younger, Plautus, Sallust, and Tacitus — as well as the Greek tragedians Aeschylus, Sophocles, and Euripides, comedians Menander and Aristophanes, and philosophers Plato and Aristotle. – Publisher
Originally conceived as an open-access collection of materials for the study of ancient Greece and Rome, including texts (in both the original language and English translations), dictionaries and other reference works (mostly older out-of-copyright works), images, and other studies. More recent modules have expanded coverage to Renaissance Latin poetry.