The English-language version of most complete and most authoritative modern encyclopedia of the classical world. In nearly 20,000 entries it covers two thousand years of history and culture of ancient Greece and Rome, and their reception in the two thousand years that followed.

Provides citations to articles, conferences proceedings and essays in medieval history. Covers all aspects of the Middle Ages and includes Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa from 300 CE to 1500 CE. Select "International Medieval Bibliography" from the menu of the Brepols Medieval database collection.

Provides public domain and copy-permitted texts in Medieval Studies. Full text of previously published material is provides along with citation information.

Originally conceived as an open-access collection of materials for the study of ancient Greece and Rome, includng texts (in both the original language and English translations), dictionaries and other reference works (mostly older out-of-copyright works), images, and other studies. Other more recent modules have expanded coverage to Old Norse, Renaissance England, Renaissance Latin poetry, nineteenth-century America, and the Qur'an in Arabic.

An electronic dictionary of medieval Latin abbreviations, a database designed for use in both learning and teaching medieval Latin paleography, can be used as a reference and research tool.

The Acta Sanctorum Database is an electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Société des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels. It is a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organised according to each saint's feast day, and runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940.

The Acta Sanctorum Database contains the entire Acta Sanctorum, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indices. Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers, essential references for scholars, are also included.

The most complete and most authoritative modern encyclopedia of the classical world. In nearly 20,000 entries it covers two thousand years of history and culture of ancient Greece and Rome, and their reception in the two thousand years that followed. Also available in English as Brill's New Pauly.

Records work in classical archaeology from 1956 forward. To access, you must check the "mit IP-Zugang" box (or, "activate IP access" box in the English interface), then click "Start."

eHRAF Archaeology provides researchers and students access to archaeological materials for comparative studies within and across regions. Documents are indexed at the paragraph level using the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM), and can be browsed by subject or by archaeological tradition. The database can also be searched using a number of criteria.

This is the first comprehensive literary-historical online commentary on the works of Flavius Josephus, the first-century Jewish historian, in English including the Greek text by Niese from the late 19th century.

Gnomon Bibliographic Database is a database which now covers almost half a million publications in the fields of Ancient History, Archaeology and Philology, including a thesaurus and search engine that allows users to browse and search the database by name of author, year of publication, title etc. Currently, the database contains around 500,000 entries with monthly updates comprising the latest reviews, monograph studies, anthologies, and articles in periodicals.

1 million incipits covering Latin literature from its origins to the Renaissance. Select "In Principio" from the menu of the Brepols Medieval database collection.

A bibliogrpahy paremiological and phraseological publications spanning the past 200 years. Covers the 10,000 publications that are part of the International Proverb Archives and every bibliographical reference is followed by one to three lines of alphabetically arranged key-words (names, subjects, titles, and texts of individual proverbs and phrases).

JSTOR Lives of Literature is a collection of academic journals devoted to the deep study of writers and texts associated with core literary movements. The collection contains 104 journals that are all new to JSTOR. Key thematic topics include: Medieval Authors & Texts, Modernist Authors, Victorian, Edwardian & Gothic Authors, Literary Theorists.

The primary database of record for identifying scholarly work on ancient Greece and Rome, from 1924 to the present.

CLCLT is a database of Latin texts containing texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). It covers the works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, a corpus of Medieval Latin literature, as well as works of neo-Latin from the Reformation forward. Many of the patristic and medieval works are taken from the Corpus Christianorum and supplemented with additional texts.

The focus of this collection is to provide direct access to facsimile images of verses as catalogued in the University of Leeds Brotherton Library’s BCMSV database. The manuscripts range from contemporary copies of poems by writers like Colvil, Dryden, Fairfax and Pope to popular tags and epitaphs. Many of the manuscripts are miscellanies and commonplace books which have never previously been indexed. - Publisher

Literary Manuscripts is drawn from the nineteenth century holdings of the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of English and American Literature at the New York Public Library. While the holdings of the Berg extend from 1480 to the present day, its most extensive holdings date from the nineteenth century. - Publisher

Website will include more than 520 volumes of Classical Greek and Latin literature. Texts in Greek or Latin with English translations on facing pages; introductory matter and notes in English.

Compiled by the Modern Language Association, the MLA International Bibliography lists articles and books in the fields of literature, language, and linguistics in the modern languages, as well as folklore, film studies, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and historical aspects of printing and publishing.

Nineteenth Century Literary Society makes available more than 1,400 items from the archive of the historic John Murray publishing company. Held by the National Library of Scotland since 2006 and added to the UNESCO Register of World Memory in 2011, the Murray collection comprises one of the world’s most important literary archives. Primary source materials span the entirety of the long nineteenth century and document the golden era of the House of Murray from its inception in 1768. - Publisher

Offers annotated bibliographies of the most important books and articles on specific topics in the field of classics. Particularly useful for anyone beginning research of one of the topics covered. Articles on ancient authors are particularly useful for identifying the standard editions, translations, and commentaries.

Online version of many Oxford University Press reference works, ranging from specialized dictionaries and companions to major reference works such as the Encyclopedia of Human Rights, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States, and the Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History, among many others.

Oxford University Press's texts of Classical authors are online for the first time. Discover authoritative critical editions, including the Oxford Classical Texts series, commentaries, and translations of all the major works.

The Classics wing of OSEO contains texts and translations of all the major Latin authors — from Horace, Ovid, Virgil, and Homer to Pliny The Younger, Plautus, Sallust, and Tacitus — as well as the Greek tragedians Aeschylus, Sophocles, and Euripides, comedians Menander and Aristophanes, and philosophers Plato and Aristotle. – Publisher

Available for the first time online, Oxford’s scholarly editions provide trustworthy, annotated primary texts for scholars and students. OSEO currently includes writers active between the 8th and 20th century — from Aristotle, Austen, Bentham, Catullus, Dickens, and Donne through to Plato, Virgil, Homer and Wordsworth. It contains over 1,750 scholarly editions — the equivalent of more than 870,000 print pages. – Publisher

A collection of full-text electronic editions of significant works in philosophy, literature, political thought, religious thought, history of science, and social theory. Particularly strong for major philosophical texts. Original language texts in English, Latin, French, German, Danish and Dutch, as well as some works in English translation. The texts are taken from high-quality critical editions, and a number of search options are offered.

Volume browseable version of Patrologia Latina.

The Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The database contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are included.

An electronic version of J.-P. Migne's 221-volume Patrologiae Cursus Completus, Series Latina, more commonly known as the Patrologia Latina. This monumental set of books, published between 1844 and 1864, comprises the complete texts of all Christian writings in Latin from the earliest times until the beginning of the thirteenth century.

A full-text database of literature in Latin, compiled by the Packard Humanities Institute.

Not all content is available full text to Northwestern community.

Searchable database that provides access to the content of journals and ebooks published from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.

The Premium Collection is MUSE's foremost collection of over 700 high quality, peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from leading university presses, not-for-profit publishers and prestigious scholarly societies.

This digital collection, which includes the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust, offers students and researchers of the Romantic period unique access to the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers, including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey. Also contains a collection of fine art pieces by such artists as J.M.W. Turner, John Constable and Benjamin Robert Haydon. All of the documents are digitized in colour and include: verse manuscripts, printed manuscripts, prose manuscripts, printed verse, correspondence, diaries, travel journals, autograph albums, guide books, fine art and maps.

Shakespeare’s Globe Archive: Theatres, Players & Performance documents the performance and construction history of the new Globe and the indoor theatre space of the Sam Wanamaker Playhouse. The material in this archive will be essential to any students or researchers interested in Shakespeare in performance, theatre history, early-modern theatre and the cultural history of Shakespeare. – Publisher

ShakespearesWords.com is an website and database based on the book Shakespeare's Words: A Glossary & Companion. It contains abbreviations, symbols, glossary panals, frequently encountered words, Shakespearean circles, synopses, and dramatis personae and much more.

Comprehensive, full-text database of Greek literature from Homer (eighth century B.C.) until the closing of the Academy (sixth century A.D.). Texts are entirely in Greek. Note: Users must create a personal log-in in order to access this service.

The primary scholarly, historical dictionary of classical Latin. Covers historical shades of meaning and syntax extensively, with comprehensive listings of the use of each word through the Antonine period, and more selective listings through the year 600.