The most complete and most authoritative modern encyclopedia of the classical world. In nearly 20,000 entries it covers two thousand years of history and culture of ancient Greece and Rome, and their reception in the two thousand years that followed. Articles are available in both English and the original German.
Offers annotated bibliographies of the most important books and articles on specific topics in the field of classics. Particularly useful for anyone beginning research of one of the topics covered. Articles on ancient authors are particularly valuable for identifying the standard editions, translations, and commentaries.
Oxford Classical Dictionary hosts a continuously growing collection of over 6,500 entries, new and revised entries published online on a monthly basis, broader chronological, geographical, and cultural reach than the fourth edition, featuring new articles on gender studies, Late Antiquity, Christianity, Jewish studies, Near East, Bronze Age, linguistics, and reception. OCD has updated and, often, rewritten OCD4 entries, incorporating new available data, perspectives, and bibliographical resources, a truly living resource that evolves as the disciple evolves; articles offer the ability to see prior versions providing a real-time window into an ever-evolving discipline . OCD has all new and revised articles are peer-reviewed and feature a wide array of multimedia resources, including images, maps, audiovisual clips, links to primary texts, cross-references, and other digital tools. OCD reflects a broader and more inclusive coverage of the ancient world than the fourth edition thanks to a diverse and international board of editors and contributors. - Publisher
Additional Resources: Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
This multivolume reference work is a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world--Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman--from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.
The first comprehensive reference work encompassing the world and artistry of Homer, the historical and cultural background of the Iliad and the Odyssey, Homeric scholarship, and Homeric reception from antiquity to the present.
The primary scholarly, historical dictionary of classical Latin. Covers historical shades of meaning and syntax extensively, with comprehensive listings of the use of each word through the Antonine period, and more selective listings through the year 600.
Oxford Latin Dictionary (1968-82)
MAIN Reference L 473 O98. The standard single-volume Latin-English Dictionary.
MAIN Reference L 483 L71 1996. By Henry George Liddell and Robert Scott, revised by Sir Henry Stuart Jones. Sometimes called LSJ. The standard classical Greek-English dictionary. The 1940 edition available through Perseus. An augmented edition is available through the TLG.
Lexikon des frühgriechischen Epos (1955- ).
Main Library 1 East - Reference Section Large 483 S671l The standard dictionary for the language of Homer and Hesiod.
Cambridge Ancient History.
MAIN Reference 930 C178 1970. Publication of this monumental set began in 1970 and continued for twenty-five years. The authoritative source on ancient history.
Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World (2000).
MAIN Government Info (Atlas Case) 912.38 B276. Accompanied by two-volume map-by-map directory (also on CD-ROM in the Mitchell Multimedia Center). The standard atlas of the classical world.
Includes the Biographisches Archiv der Antike (BAA), which comprises the full contents of 87 biographical and prosopographical encyclopedias for the ancient world. Includes all of the biographical entries from the Pauly-Wissowa Real-Encyclopädie.
Guide to Reference Sources in the Classics
Jenkins, Fred W. Classical Studies: A Guide to the Reference Literature (2006).
MAIN Reference 016.88 J52c 2006. Annotated guide to databases, bibliographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, indexes, and other reference materials for the study of the classical world.