Analysis, Practice, Regulations
- VitalLaw This link opens in a new windowExpert-authored analysis, practice tools, and current awareness news combined in this source to support full compliance in all areas of healthcare regulation as well as managing reimbursement efficiently and effectively. [formerly Cheetah)
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowContains annotations for all major compliance-related statues, regulations, and administrative decisions. Nexis UNI’s statutory and regulatory content is more current than the publicly available free content for the United States Code and the CFR at GovInfo.gov
Selected Databases
Jump to sections below:
Business Databases | Multidisciplinary Databases | Newspaper Article Databases | Health Sciences | Scientific & Technical Article Databases | Quality Systems Research
Business Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new windowSearch worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text articles from regional, national and international business and trade journals.
- Industry Research GuideRecommended resources for researching industries.
- Company Research GuideRecommended resources for researching public or private companies.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books.Powerful tools allow you to search and see what articles in the database have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowAccess World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Access World News is updated daily. This database combines news articles from more than 12,000 sources and over 200 countries. Much of the material in non-English languages has been translated into English, but a significant amount of material is presented in the original language.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowFactiva provides access to over 6,000 US and foreign full-text news and business publications. Factiva also includes reports, financials, stock quotes and other investment data on public companies. Some titles listed are not available to academic library users. These titles cannot be blocked from the title list.
- US Newsstream This link opens in a new windowUS Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. US Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune. All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowThis database provides selected full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources. This collection includes cover-to-cover full text for and selected full text from hundreds of regional newspapers. International newspaper coverage includes cover-to-cover full text for The Times (London), The Toronto Star, The Australian, and more. Newswire coverage includes AP Online (Associated Press), Asia Pulse, Canadian Press Wire, World Stream Newswires and more.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790, with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types.
- Chicago Area NewspapersWhen news is local, go to the local news sources. This Guide provides info and links for current and historical Chicago-area news publications. Notice also the tab for Television & Radio.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers It provides indexing for over 1,200 nursing journals and publications dating back to 1982.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowThis resource provides more than 580 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines with partiuclar strength in nursing and allied health.
- MEDLINE (via OVID) This link opens in a new windowThe MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.
- Embase This link opens in a new windowEmbase is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing international journals in the fields of drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
- Public Library of SciencePLOS (Public Library of Science) is a nonprofit publisher and advocacy organization founded to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new windowThis bibliographic database, produced by the National Agricultural Library, consists of worldwide literature citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture and related fields. Since 1985, the CAB Thesaurus has been used to select controlled vocabulary terms for subject indexing. Library of Congress Subject Headings are used as controlled vocabulary for cataloging records.
Coverage:1970 - current. - PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Psychological Association, this database is a comprehensive index to the professional and academic literature in psychology, counseling and related disciplines. Covers 1860-present.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowA database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available throught the Internet. Contains abstracts and articles from the core journals in major scientific disciplines. The journals are arranged under subject areas for topical navigation.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is the largest abstract and citation database, including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources. Subject coverage : Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering ; Life and Health Sciences ; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics ; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowProvides full text access to journals, reference works, books, and databases published by Wiley in all the science disciplines. Northwestern University Library access varies by title. Wiley Online Library replaces the resource known as Wiley InterScience Publications or Wiley InterScience Journals.
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new windowSearch worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text articles from regional, national and international business and trade journals.
- Health & Safety Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowThis database provides a comprehensive, timely survey of recent work relating to public health, safety and industrial hygiene.
Looking for Full Text?
Databases will often provide links to HTML or PDF copies of the articles they cite. However, there will be times when full text will not be available. In those cases, click on the 
button. This will search through the library's subscriptions to see if full text is available through another resource.
If full text is not available online, search the name of the journal where the article was printed in NUSearch the libraries' discovery tool, to see if the library has a print subscription. If the library has a print subscription of the journal, you can request a copy of the article you need here.
Your Librarian
Anne Zald
she/her
Contact:
Anne Zald
Subjects: Government Information; Regulatory Compliance; Gender & Sexuality Studies
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
Make an Appointment
Subjects: Government Information; Regulatory Compliance; Gender & Sexuality Studies
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
Make an Appointment
847-467-6441