MEDLINE vs. PubMed vs. PubMed Central
MEDLINE: a National Library of Medicine (NLM) journal citation database. Articles indexed in MEDLINE have been through a review and recommendation process. MEDLINE uses NLM controlled vocabulary, Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) to index citations.
PubMed: PubMed contains all references from MEDLINE, plus additional citations, such as those published before MeSH, certain primary general science and general chemistry journals that are out-of-scope for MEDLINE, as well as author manuscripts, and some books from the NCBU Bookshelf. If you limit your results to MeSH subject terms, you will only see MEDLINE journals.
PubMed Central (PMC): a free archive for full-text biomedical life science journals. It is a repository for journal literature deposited by participating publishers. There is some overlap with journals in PMC and MEDLINE.
Adapted from the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Databases by subject: Health and Medicine
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
- Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new windowA resource for consumer-oriented publications covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition, children's health, men & women's health.
- Global Health This link opens in a new windowOne simultaneous user, click on " End Session" then close your browser to log out. Global Health is a public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and much more. This database contains more than 1.2 million records dating back to 1973.
- MEDLINE (via OVID) This link opens in a new windowThe MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is the largest abstract and citation database, including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources. Subject coverage : Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering ; Life and Health Sciences ; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics ; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books.Powerful tools allow you to search and see what articles in the database have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
Databases by subject: Communication and Technology
- Communication Source This link opens in a new windowCombining the content of Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts, this comprehensive resource offers content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields. Coverage goes back to 1915.
- Applied Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new windowApplied Science & Technology Abstracts, produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, contains citations for more than 700 core English-language, scientific and technical publications. Topics include engineering, acoustics, chemistry, computers, metallurgy, physics, plastics, telecommunications, transportation, and waste management.
Databases by subject: Social Sciences and Psychology
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Psychological Association, this database is a comprehensive index to the professional and academic literature in psychology, counseling and related disciplines. Covers 1860-present.