Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19: Access to Materials
The Updates to Library Services page provides regular updates on resources and services. This website includes information on:
- Access to physical books
- Special collections and non-circulating materials
- Reservable study space
- Scanning and book pick-up
- Interlibrary loan
Digital versions of books are usually listed in NUsearch. From the drop-down menu, search using the "Books & Multimedia" tab or the "Books, Images, and More" tab, then check full record for format options.
For information on temporary access to digital books and other materials, some resources are below.
- The ACLS Humanities E-Book Project (HEB) has e-versions of thousands of history and other humanities books. Books that are accessible via HEB are searchable in NUsearch via title and/or author. These titles have a blank book icon on the left of the record and a link that reads ACLS Humanities E-Book. URL: http://www.humanitiesebook.org. Just click on the Online Access link in the NUsearch record.
- For information on the HathiTurst Emergency Access program, see HathiTrust Response to Covid-19 and the Library's Guide to Using HathiTrust. HathiTrust materials that are available via the Temporary Emergency Access are also listed in NUsearch (search by title under the Books, Images and More tab. The catalog record will indicate if full text is available.)
- Some publishers provide free access to materials. See Free Resources Available in Response to Covid-19.
What's new @ NUL
New electronic resources in German Studies
NUsearch is the main search tool for Northwestern University Library, combining the library catalog with a wealth of other databases and online collections.
MLA International Bibliography
Compiled by the Modern Language Association, the MLA International Bibliography lists articles and books in the fields of literature, language, and linguistics in the modern languages, as well as folklore, film studies, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Duden online includes 17 German dictionaries from Duden-Verlag, covering a wide range of topics including German word definitions, orthography and usage, names, word origins, economic and medical terms. Search an individual dictionary or across all 17 dictionaries.
Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker
Contains the work of more than thirty authors, including early German texts such as Lancelot and Ginover and the poems of Wolfram von Eschenbach, editions of important authors such as Herder, Kleist, and Bchner, and the works of philosophers such as Kant, Schleiermacher, and Fichte. Collections of historical, philosophical, theological, political and art history texts add context and background material.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
A partnership of more than sixty major research institutions with Google, the Hathi Trust Digital Library includes all the book images from these libraries that have been digitized by Google. Only out-of-copyright images (generally pre-1923) can be displayed, or others where the permission of the copyright holder has been obtained, though both in-copyright and out-of-copyright materials can be searched. Out-of-copyright books can be downloaded by Northwestern users who register with the site.