Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Includes Langenscheidt German-English dictionary, Bertelsmann German dictionary, and Wahrig Rechtschreibung.
Middle High German dictionary
Free online access to Middle High German dictionaries, from Lexer and Benecke-Muller-Zarncke.
A German grammar checker from Duden. Click on Text überprüfen tab at upper right, then type or paste in your text (no more than 1 page, ca. 1600 characters) and check for spelling and grammatical errors.
Electronic thesaurus (entirely in German). Provides synonyms, usage information, and usage examples taken from recent publications.
Die Deutsche Rechtschreibung by
Call Number: REF 431.52 D845 2009
Publication Date: 2005-12-01
This spelling and usage dictionary includes the software Duden Korrektor kompakt for Microsoft Office on a separate CD-ROM (held in the Multimedia Center under the same call number).
Die Regeln der deutschen Rechtschreibung by
Call Number: MAIN 431.52 H477r
Publication Date: 1997-01-01
Another spelling and usage reference.
Die deutsche Rechtschreibung by
Call Number: Oak Grove Library Center 431.52 H552d (delivered to Main on request)
Publication Date: 2007
Brockhaus Enzyklopdie in 30 Bnden
Brockhaus Enzyklopdie is the standard German language encyclopedia. In addition to the over 300,000 articles and 40,000 illustrations in the print edition, the electronic edition includes audio and video content and is continuously updated.
KLGonline: das kritische Lexikon zur deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur: KLG
KLG is a standard reference work on contemporary German literature. Includes essays ca. 750 on writers, as well as complete bibliographies of primary and secondary literature. German, Austrian, and Swiss writers included.
NOTE: 1. You'll need to activate the cookies of your browser. 2. Access is ONLY to KLG-articles marked red.
Verfasser-Datenbank (Database of German Authors)
Provides information about literary authors in the German-speaking world from the Middle Ages to the present. Includes online access to the standard reference works Die deutsche Literatur des Mittelalters, Deutscher Humanismus 1480-1520, Frühe Neuzeit in Deutschland 1520-1620 and the Killy-Literaturlexikon.
Encyclopedia of German Literature
Designed to provide English readers of German literature the opportunity to familiarize themselves with both the established canon and newly emerging literatures that reflect the concerns of women and ethnic minorities, the Encyclopedia of German Literature includes a large number of entries on writers, individual works, and topics essential to an understanding of this rich literary tradition.
Biographical data drawn from the Allgemeine deutsche Biographie and the Neue deutsche Biographie. Multiple search options are available, including map-based. Project is sponsored by the German Historical Commission and the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek.
Deutsche biographische Enzyklopädie (DBE)
German biographical encyclopedia, online. The English translation is available in print in the Reference Room at Ref. 920.043 D486X
Common search interface to the electronic versions of the Allgemeine Deutsche Biographie, Neue Deutsche Biographie, Oesterreichisches Biographisches Lexikon, 1815-1950 and Historisches Lexikon der Schweiz.
Literature Resource Center
Biographies, bibliographies and analysis of over 115,000 authors. In-depth coverage of 2000 of the most studied authors.
World Biographical Information System WBIS
Over 3.6 million short biographical entries for individuals who lived across the world from ancient times to the present. Includes full text images of the original sources, usually older biographical dictionaries. Especially valuable for locating information on hard-to-find individuals from the past.
Do you need to find the German word when you're not quite sure of the English? Try a pictorial dictionary! They allow browsing by topic (e.g., birds, sports); some also allow searching.
The Oxford-Duden Pictorial German-English Dictionary
Call Number: REF 433 D8449o 1994
Publication Date: 1994-12-15
The print pictorial dictionary contains much greater detail than the online versions and is often easier to browse.
Literature Criticism Online
Literature Criticism Online is a database of 10 individual Gale reference titles representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
Includes more than 240 entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
Working with German Corpora by
Call Number: MAIN 435.0285 W926
Publication Date: 2001-03-30
Describes computer-assisted linguistic analysis of German-language materials.