Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Humanities: Funding

Funding

Funding Opportunities

For digital pedagogy and research projects that need additional support and resources, funding opportunities for faculty and graduate students working in the digital humanities are available at Northwestern University and beyond.

 

Northwestern University

  • Alumnae Curriculum Awards
    Provides support for faculty to develop new courses which will specifically enhance innovation in Northwestern’s undergraduate curriculum for the coming academic year

     
  • Course Enhancement Grants
    Funded by the Weinberg College of Arts & Sciences, these grants provide funds for special events or activities associated with a course

     
  • Digital Humanities Summer Faculty Workshop
    An annual workshop in which faculty, librarians, and technologists work together to create new digital humanities courses and research projects with meaningful roles for undergraduates

     
  • Digital Humanities Research Grant
    Funded by The Graduate School, this grant is intended to enable PhD students in the humanities to access specialized training. Awards up to $2,500 will be granted for training in digital technologies directly in support of dissertation research

     
  • Hewlett Fund for Curricular Innovation
    Funded by Weinberg College of Arts & Sciences, these grants or matching funds are available to one or more continuing faculty members or departments for projects that enhance undergraduate curricular innovation and development

     
  • Office of Sponsored Research
    Provides an integrated portfolio of expert services and resources to serve our world-class investigators and advance Northwestern’s transformative research and teaching efforts.

     
  • Provost's Digital Learning Fellowship
    Encourages faculty to develop innovative digital or online projects focused on improving student learning at both the graduate and undergraduate student levels

     
  • Provost Grants for Innovation in Diversity and Equity
    Supports novel and innovative faculty projects, including curricular projects, conferences, and other programs, that will enhance our academic enterprise through improving diversity and inclusivity at Northwestern

 

National Endowment for the Humanities

  • Digital Humanities Advancement Grants
    These grants provide three levels of funding in support of the implementation of experimental projects—from the start-up to implementation phase—that demonstrate their value to the humanities, including efforts to reinvigorate existing or dormant projects in innovative ways.

     
  • Digital Projects for the Public
    These grants support projects that significantly contribute to the public’s engagement with the humanities. The program offers three levels of support for digital projects: grants for discovery, prototyping, and production projects.

     
  • Fellowships for Digital Publication
    These fellowships support individual scholars pursuing research projects that require digital expression and digital publication. To be eligible for this special opportunity, an applicant’s plans for digital publication must be essential to the project’s research goals.

     
  • Humanities Collections and Reference Resources
    This program strengthens efforts to extend the life of humanities collections (including, not limited to books, art, photographs, sound and video, and digital objects) and make their intellectual content widely accessible, often through the use of digital technology.

     

  • Institutes for Advanced Topics in the Digital Humanities
    These grants support national or regional (multistate) training programs for scholars and advanced graduate students to broaden and extend their knowledge of digital humanities.

 

Other Sources

  • Collections as Data
    Fosters the development of broadly viable models that support implementation and use of collections as data (Mellon).

     
  • Digital Extension Grants
    These grants support teams of scholars as they enhance existing digital projects in ways that engage new audiences across a range of academic communities and institutions (ACLS).

     
  • Digitizing Hidden Special Collections and Archives
    Subtitled "Enabling New Scholarship through Increasing Access to Unique Materials," this national competition promotes and funds digitizing collections of rare and unique content in cultural memory institutions (CLIR).

English & Digital Humanities Librarian

Profile Photo
Josh Honn
Contact:
University Library, 2 East, Suite 2699A
josh.honn@northwestern.edu
(847) 467-4761
Subjects: English