The American Slavery Collection addresses every facet of American slavery by providing access to the American Antiquarian Societys holdings of slavery and abolition materials published over the course of more than 100 years. The digitized materials include books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera.
The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.
Slavery and the Law features petitions on race, slavery, and free blacks that were submitted to state legislatures and county courthouses between 1775 and 1867, documenting the realities of slavery at the most immediate local level and with amazing candor.
Online archive of published and manuscript primary sources focusing on womens international activism since the mid-nineteenth century. The archive includes proceedings of womens international conferences, books, pamphlets, articles from newspapers and journals, diary entries, and memoirs. It contains numerous online publications of contemporary Non-Governmental Organizations and also includes photographs and videos of major events and activists in the history of womens international social movements.
Liverpool's International Slavery Museum highlights the international importance of slavery, both in a historic and contemporary context. Working in partnership with other museums with a focus on freedom and enslavement, the museum provides opportunities for greater awareness and understanding of the legacy of slavery today. Includes "The History of the Transatlantic Slave Trade."
2,300 accounts and 500 photographs of former slaves, collected in the 1930s by the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration, microfilmed in 1941 as the 17 vol. "Slave Narratives: A Folk History of Slavery in the United States from Interviews with Former Slaves."
University College London's projects tracing the impact of slave-ownership on the formation of modern Britain: the ESRC-funded Legacies of British Slave-ownership project, now complete, and the ESRC and AHRC-funded Structure and significance of British Caribbean slave-ownership 1763-1833, running from 2013-2015.
Revealing Histories is a partnership of eight museums and galleries in Greater Manchester. We came together in 2007 to commemorate the bicentenary of the abolition of the British slave trade in 1807 and to explore the legacy of slavery in our collections, in our communities and in our region. Slavery is part of our shared history that still impacts on our lives today.
In 1870, Rev. Samuel Joseph May's materials went to Cornell U. Library, documenting anti-slavery struggles. Sermons, position papers, offprints, newsletters, anthologies, freedmen's testimonies, broadsides, and Anti-Slavery Fair keepsakes document the abolitionist movement.