Research Guides: INTL_ST_395-0: Slavery in Global Relational Perspective (Jayawardene): Books

Library of Congress

Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) has been maintained since 1898 to catalog materials held at the national library. With cooperative cataloging, other libraries also use LCSH to provide subject access to their collections.

Library of Congress Classification Outline, the letters and titles of the main classes of the national library's arrangement of materials.

Worldcat

WorldCat is the world’s most comprehensive database of library materials. Updated at a rate of nearly one new record every second, WorldCat contains bibliographic records and holdings contributed by more than 11,000 libraries around the world.

Google Books

Includes some magazines.

Video Tutorials

Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of emancipation and abolition in the Transatlantic world
Edited by Junius Rodriguez. Armonk, NY: Sharpe Reference, 2007. 3 v.; Full text available from CREDO reference

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of several hundred subject encyclopedias and other reference works across all subject areas, but with particular strengths in the social sciences and humanities. It includes a number of major reference works, and is Northwesterns largest single collection of reference materials. A good source for authoritative background information.
International Historical Statistics, 1750-2010 This link opens in a new window
International historical statistics; 1750-2010 3-volume set is the latest edition of the most authoritative collection of statistics available. Updated to 2010 wherever possible, it provides key economic and social indicators for the last 260 years, serving as an essential reference source.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers annotated bibliographies of the most important books and articles on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. Particularly useful for anyone beginning research.

Slavery in the United States: a social, political, and historical encyclopedia
Junius P. Rodriguez, ed. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2007.

Yearbook of International Organizations Online This link opens in a new window
This directory provides information about international organizations including address(es), websites, description, history, aims, publications, staff, finances, activities, relations with other international intergovernmental and non-governmental organizations, events, and members. Searchable by a variety of keywords and qualities including location of main office, type of organization, and member states. Statistics about international organizations also provided.

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>