Presents the international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings and publications of the activists themselves. Covering1830-1865, the 15,000 articles, documents, correspondence, proceedings, manuscripts, and literary works of almost 300 Black abolitionists show their activities in the U.S., Canada, England, Scotland, Ireland, France and Germany. The collection reproduces in full the 17 reels of microfilmed content.

Black Studies Center includes this electronic index to the Black Literature 1827-1940 microfiche collection, edited by Henry Louis Gates, Jr. Search over 70,000 bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers. For citations to content from the Chicago Defender for which full text is available in Black Studies Center, a link is included directly to the relevant article.

Contains stories, folktales, and short fiction by African, African American, and Caribbean authors.

Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper.

Black Studies in Video features award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations

Black Thought and Culture provides non-fiction monographs, essays, articles, letters, speeches, political leaflets, and interviews written by major American black leaderscovering 250 years of history. Also includes The Black Panther newspaper and Black Panther oral histories.

Black Women Writers brings together the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Offering fiction, poetry, and essays from three continents and 20 countries, the database gives a view of black women's struggles through time. New content is uploaded on a biweekly basis, giving users immediate access to a steadily growing treasury of extraordinary writings. The database currently features over 16,000 pages of poetry and prose.

A part of of ProQuest US Newsstream, a collection of nine current Black newspapers from across the United States from 1989-present. Some full text available. Titles include Afro-American Red Star, Call & Post, Chicago Defender, Houston Post, Michigan Chronicle, Muslim Journal, New Journal & Guide, New York Amsterdam News, and Los Angeles Sentinel.